A Patchwork Quilt of Windows

IMG_8359_FinalBuildings never look the same re-visited. You visit them a second or third time and you see something completely different.

About a year ago I photographed this building and the scene then was all about a vast curve of reflective glass contrasting with a brick facade. Clear here to view that post.

When I walked the same stretch of South Bank earlier this month, the light was entirely different. I even struggled to stand in the right place to see the image that I had captured previously. What attracted my attention instead was a small portion of the glass frontage that featured a fractured reflection which defied logic. I saw a patchwork quilt of fragments. And once again I gave thanks to the manufacturers of not-flat glass.

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Patchwork Quilt of Windows

  1. oneowner says:

    Two completely different photographs of the same subject! I like “not-flat glass”.

  2. Meanderer says:

    Fascinating. I like the blue ‘eye’ 😉

  3. Chillbrook says:

    Some great distorted reflections, very nice Andy!

  4. Len says:

    Your new nickname should be the “Pattern Guy”, Andy. You have a great eye for seeing and composing patterns in everyday life that are striking.

  5. shoreacres says:

    Some of the panes really do look quilted, in the sense that they seem to have depth to them. It’s a wonderful illusion. I’ve always liked old, wavey glass, and I’m glad to see it here. We have lots and lots of glass in our skyscrapers, but it’s not nearly so interesting as yours. There seems to be a preference for colored glass and smooth reflections. It makes for a heck of a skyline, but it’s not nearly so interesting.

    • LensScaper says:

      The quilting effect is rather biazarre. Next time I walk this route I mus take a look around and see if I can spot what has created that effect. There is plenty of flat glass in London to admire, and this glass is not old but modern. I think some of it is created by the tensioning of the glass into the framework, but no matter how it is caused it creates some wonderful effects.

  6. seekraz says:

    It’s fascinating how perspective changes things…the previous image was of the upper levels and reflected the sky, and this one was more to ground or eye level and captured more intimate or detailed views. Very nice, Andy.

  7. A patchwork quilt is just the right metaphor. Like you, I’ve noticed that a subject can look quite different from one visit to the next, or even on a walk when seen first while going in one direction and then shortly afterward while passing back by in the opposite direction.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Steve. The first time I walked past this building, it was only when I looked back and saw this frontage that I became aware of it’s potential.

  8. sixpixx says:

    Two very different views of the same – but not the same. I do like the focus(es) of this one.

    • LensScaper says:

      Two different days, entirely different light, and the building is transformed. I am always surprised by the capacity for glass to make the weirdest of images

Comments are closed.