The DLWP Staircase

_DS83637DLWP is short for De La Warr Pavilion – an Art Deco styled building in Bexhill-on-Sea on the South Coast of England.

Built in the 1930s, the driver behind the building was the 9th Earl De La Warr (Mayor of Bexhill at the time) whose vision was for ‘a seaside Pavilion, which was to provide culture and entertainment for the masses‘. A competition was launched for a ‘modernist building of world renown‘.

The building has had a long and chequered life and for many years after the war the building fell into a state of disrepair and neglect. Finally in 2005 thanks to generous grants from the Arts council and Heritage Lottery the building finally re-opened as a centre for the Arts. A much more detailed account of this building can be found here.

I’ve also written about this building before in a Post and a set of images of the exterior and its enviable situation can be seen here.

Today’s images focus on the elegant staircase. On the day I photographed it earlier this year I wished I had brought a wider-angled lens but sometimes making do with what one has compels one to strive harder to find the right image.

IMG_8421These are the two that appeal to me the most: one taken on my Canon G10 compact, and the other on a 18-250mm Sigma lens on a DX Nikon body.

Which image was taken with which camera? Answer: first one Nikon, second one Canon.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The DLWP Staircase

  1. oneowner says:

    You caught some good angles, Andy. It seems to be a very photogenic building.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. Yes, there is a lot to please the photographer. But like all buildings situated close to the sea is is starting to look a little sad – the gleaming white exterior of five years ago is starting to look in need of new paint with familiar runs of rusty brown in places; all thanks to the salt-laden stray that will be flung towards it in the winter storms.

  2. shoreacres says:

    Those seaside pavilions in the linked set of photos are fabulous. You’re right: they evoke a Mediterranean corniche.This staircase is equally appealing. It looks to me, in the second photo, as though it was designed with the Fibonacci curve in mind, especially with the way the metal railing terminates.

    The first photo leaves a somewhat different impression. The sense of slight horizontal “stretching” is neat, but here’s what really tickled me — the photo makes me think of a French press coffee pot.

    • LensScaper says:

      Another bizarre coincidence – I was at a photographic seminar this morning where the speaker was talking about Fibonacci curves and, that curve of the banister rail is exactly that shape. And I also know exactly what you mean about the first image. We use a French press coffee pot or cafetiere every morning! The ‘stretching’ is I think all down to the way the image is framed – I promise I haven’t altered the natural shape – but I was pleased to be able to capture the white curve that sweeps around the base of the image.

  3. Lynne Ayers says:

    Great compositions. You did a great job with your self- imposed limitations 🙂

  4. Chillbrook says:

    These are wonderful images Andy. I’m really not sure a wider angle lens would have added a great deal. Working with what you had has produced some remarkable pictures.
    I have a real passion for all things art deco. I recently visited a wonderfully restored art deco cinema in Evesham. It reminded of the cinemas of my youth, so different to the muliplexes of today.

    • LensScaper says:

      We are on the same page, Adrian, as we often are! Art Deco was my favourite era of the 20th century, the flowing lines are always so photographic. Cinemas, Theatres and other public buildings of that era are rare but it’s good to see that some are now Grade 1 protected buildings. It was a tricky ‘assignment’ fitting that staircase into a frame, and I think you are right in what you are saying: when we are challenged to make-do with what we have we sometimes achieve more than expected because we have to think more precisely.

  5. Sue says:

    Ooh, I love spirals…..must visit the DLWP soon!

  6. Andy – you’ve got some great shots on both of your posts on this building. As I mentioned somewhere (Instagram?), I am a fan of Art Deco design, and this place is a very nice example. I like the attention to design details, especially the way the pendant light fixture in the stairs echos the roofs in the exterior shot on your other post. Also, the font on the dedication plaque is very nice; thanks for getting that in your shot.

  7. ShimonZ says:

    I just recently read of a comparison between the G10 and an SLR, and the professionals involved were unable to identify which print came from which camera. Very slowly, people are beginning to recognize the quality of compact cameras.

    • LensScaper says:

      At low ISO I think the G10 produces very good images and the Image files straight out of the camera are actually larger than my Nikon D80’s. If only it produced images with less noise over ISO 400. Good to hear fro you Shimon.

  8. Great perspectives and I think I love the exteriors even more.

  9. Len says:

    There is something about well shot staircases (like this) that mesmerizes my eye. Well done Andy.

Comments are closed.