A cubist canvas

IMG_8355I spent a few minutes walking near London Bridge last weekend. The Shard dominates the Skyline in this part of London but I have yet to capture a satisfactory image of it. I’m really not bothered because there are plenty of other not quite so tall buildings in the vicinity that do yield images that  more than fascinate me. This is one that I happened upon. I had remembered photographing a glass facade just off Tooley Street a few years ago and had always wanted to return to see what I could make of it. And this is the result. The only straight lines in this image are the ‘joints’ between the individual glass panels of the building’s facade – creating vertical distorted stripes –  and a series of diagonal lines that tell us we are looking up and along a tall and lengthy building. The original building has become a giant canvas.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A cubist canvas

  1. hmunro says:

    This is a MAGNIFICENT image! Not only do I love the composition, but also how the “wibbly-wobbly” effect becomes more pronounced as your eye moves to the right side of the photo. Nicely done.

  2. shoreacres says:

    I swear you have some of the most fantastic reflective buildings in the world. To be quite frank, this is far more interesting than the photos I’ve seen of the Shard. One thing that helps, of course, is that there’s such a variety of surrounding buildings to be reflected. It’s just a wonderful image — especially that “old-fashioned” strip across the bottom.

    • LensScaper says:

      I’m sure you would find examples equally as good in the major cities of the USA. And you are right – this area still has older style buildings and this shot seems to have found a viewpoint that brings a number of differing styles into the same frame. It is confirmation that if we wander off the main streets we are often rewarded with photographs that other people never see.

  3. I like the feeling of movement that’s created by the wavy reflections!

  4. Helen Cherry says:

    Works for me Andy ! 🙂

  5. This is a wonderful image Andy. I love it.

  6. It’s good of you to have noticed that chopped-up reality.

Comments are closed.