The unexpected is never far away

IMG_8337The world is full of oddities, the surreal and the incongruous. The majority of people never spot them, but as we develop as photographers we start to see the world differently. We  become curious, and observant. We notice the daft side of life, we see the humour in situations that ordinary folk miss. And our lives are the richer for that heightened awareness.

I was walking down New Bond Street in London a week ago when I came across the image you see above. New Bond Street is ultra posh and very expensive. A store is presumably being refurbished on this site, and as is increasingly the case the property is boarded up. And the Boarding itself becomes a statement. A Work of Art. And the chaos of work goes on around it – the cones, the barriers and the lorries. Incongruous. Just a little bit crazy. Fodder for the lens. And a satisfied smile crosses my face – Gotcha!

For another brilliant example of this trend, click here to see an earlier post from Islington in North London

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The unexpected is never far away

  1. The flatness of a photograph is certainly your collaborator here. I can’t tell what is boarding and what is actual streetscape. Gotcha indeed.

  2. ShimonZ says:

    Your title is so true, Andy. And how nice when the unexpected is something that amuses us…

  3. shoreacres says:

    Oh, I wish there was as much creativity shown around our construction sights. This one really is marvelous, and I did have to spend a minute or two, just to sort reality from the created image.

    It’s interesting, too, what details catch our eye first. In this photo, it was the tiny, presumably corseted waist of that model. Oh, my. I hope waspishness in fashion isn’t coming back. If it is, I’ll not be participating in the trend.

    • LensScaper says:

      Not much scope for eating or even breathing in that dress! I don’t recommend that style of attire!! And I’m surprised that this approach to boarding-up sites hasn’t caught on over on your side of the ‘Pond’

Comments are closed.