Promenading

_DS83589Eastbourne is a traditional seaside resort in East Sussex immediately to the East of Beachy Head, and the headland provides the perfect vantage point to view the town and its surroundings.

The seafront stretches for three to four miles past a prominent Bandstand and a Pier and is backed by an almost continuous line of hotels – many of which date from the Victorian era. The only slight downside for the bucket-and-spade brigade is that the beach is composed of shingle and not sand.

The promenade is the place for a walk, a dawdle perhaps, or a jog. With the dog or without. And on a favourable afternoon, from the upper tier of the Bandstand, the lighting is perfect for a spot of people watching.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White, Seen on the Street and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Promenading

  1. What a wonderful shot Andy. And you’re right the light is perfect.

  2. shoreacres says:

    It’s interesting to me that I see the promenade itself — the bricks, or whatever — as the focus of the image, and not the people. The people come and go, but the promenade endures. I think that sense is heightened by the empty space in the middle. Many photographers would have centered some of the people, but centering the walkway itself leads to an entirely different feeling.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. It’s not easy to see that all three main figures are walking towards me and therefore down through the frame. I felt I needed ‘space’ for them to walk into. Sometimes, maybe quite often, there is a need for an image to have an area of ‘negative space’, which of itself may not contribute additional interest or detail but is needed for the composition to work.

      • shoreacres says:

        I just figured something out. In order to see the three figures, I had to scroll, because the image was so large. Consequently, I didn’t even see that empty space in front of the figures. I couldn’t see that on my screen unless I cut off the figures in the back. If I had seen the full image, my comment would have been different. As it was, it seemed as though the center empty space was framed by the people in front and the people in back. I’m accustomed to photos fitting on the screen, I guess.

        • LensScaper says:

          Ah – now I understand! The top half of the image does not look good at all on its own! Vertical images can overspill the screen size. On a Mac computer I can use the Command key with the + or – keys to zoom the window in or out. By zooming out I can then get the whole of the image on screen. If you use a PC running Windows then you may be able to do the same thing using the Windows key together with the + or – keys.

  3. Len says:

    Love the contrast between the silhouettes and the walkway Andy.

  4. Chillbrook says:

    A very interesting shot Andy!

Comments are closed.