Lines straight and diagonal

IMG_8340Now that I approach London from a different direction by train, I have a new ‘neighborhood’ around the terminus to explore and it looks very promising. A huge amount of development is happening around Victoria station and I look forward to many rewarding hours of exploration.

Today’s image is just a taster.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Lines straight and diagonal

  1. oneowner says:

    Off to a good start in your new explorations, Andy.

  2. Stunning photo – love it! So dynamic.

  3. Sue says:

    I usually travel into London Bridge these days, but I can get into Victoria – must give it a go…..

  4. Helen Cherry says:

    Ooooo yes.. I DO like this Andy !

  5. shoreacres says:

    There’s something slightly surrealistic about this image. If feels like there are two images, with different scales, or something. It’s almost as though the foreground image has been superimposed on the background. I think it’s the lines of the foreground building (or whatever it is) that are so disorienting. Sections of the vertical “thingies” aren’t all the same size. It almost looks like metal plates, or… or… It’s just strange. But it certainly kept my attention!

    • LensScaper says:

      It’s all thanks to the Architect – No trickery by me. It’s an unadulterated image with just the verticals straightened. I agree it looks surreal. The uprights on the left look warped but I think that is the way they have been designed but I need to go back and have another look at this. Thanks, Linda.

  6. I look forward to your explorations! This is an excellent beginning.

  7. Love the vision that saw this scene as a potential photo. Then you pulled it off beautifully. 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Frank – it’s a huge building that seemed to fill the street. Finding a suitable ‘bite’ of it was the tricky part – and this image was the result of a quick one minute look – there’s a lot of potential, which I hope to explore further.

  8. seekraz says:

    I think of you and your affinity for architectural shapes and lines when driving around our county in the course of my work…usually in a hurry to get somewhere, though, so I don’t stop…just gaze and imagine how some of them would look on the blog.

    Very nice, Andy…you have a good eye for such things.

    • LensScaper says:

      That’s very kind of you Scott – thank you. Finding images like this always excites me – it’s the geometry or the play of light and reflections that can be so appealing. This whole area around the new terminus that brings me into London is one huge building site – a lot based around the Battersea Power Station (as it once was). That name may not mean much to you unless you were a Pink Floyd fan when that huge building featured on one of the their album covers.

  9. sixpixx says:

    Fab photo. Can’t wait to see what comes next.

  10. Araidigi says:

    Hi , love this shot, and the wealth of geometrical architecture caught my eye too last week in London. I’m always drawn to shape, and look for ward to keeping an eye on your upcoming posts :).

  11. Chillbrook says:

    Fabulous image Andy! The colours and lines are so striking!

Comments are closed.