Wait for me

IMG_8260_edited-1A hundred yards or so down the promenade from the East Beach cafe in Littlehampton you will find this rather strange architectural feature. A snaking line that crosses the frame like the rollercoaster from hell. I’ve searched for information about this feature without success – I’ll try again next time we go down that way.

Viewed from the inland side looking out to sea, you can get a clear shot of people passing by (not many on the day we were there) but in summer I suspect there will be plenty of them. The frame then feels it is broken up into a series of odd-shaped windows and that  lends itself to people watching.

The image you see is the best of a small number I shot that day – the people neatly fitted into the ‘windows’ and I particularly liked the dog trying hard to catch up.

When I am out and about with a camera, I often see objects, buildings or landscapes that I know are capable of yielding good images but not on that occasion. It may be lack of time, poor light, bad weather etc. But when I spot a potential target I will always take a ‘shot’ and file it away back home in what I call my visual scrapbook as a reminder of somewhere or something to re-visit. If it’s in London I now try to remember to shoot the road sign so I have some idea of where the ‘target’ is. Looking back through a lot of my architectural images of London I am discovering that I have little idea of where many of them were taken although by tracking through the set of images taken on that day I can narrow the search down. It’s very frustrating to want to re-shoot a building and having to spend a lot of time trying to find it. And that’s my thought for the day – think ahead and consider taking an image that enable you to find that place again. And that makes me think about GPS co-ordinates – but it’s far too early in the day to consider that!

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Street and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Wait for me

  1. An interesting feature Andy. I like the people and dogs in the “windows” too. It looks like some it it can be used as benches.

  2. v4vikey says:

    Beautiful Photo ♥♥♥

  3. John says:

    Perhaps take your reference shots with your phone and the GPS and location on the map will be at your fingertips… then when out an about, open the photos app and the phone will simply direct you to the location.

    What an interesting structure in this photo… does it become a playground for kids in the summer? At first I though the two people were on the “rollercoaster”.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks John for a very helpful idea, I must try it. I’ve not seen this in summer when kids are about but I do have a vague memory of seeing a ‘do not climb’ notice alongside, not that kids will take much notice of that! I will be definitely be back in summer so it is highly likely there will be more shots of this and I might then see the answer to the question.

  4. shoreacres says:

    Most of the sailors and fishermen use GPS now. Sailors mark locations as waypoints for navigation, and fishermen who find a nice reef or other underwater fish haven just have to give the spot a name, punch a button, and then it’s saved. I don’t use GPS for anything, so I’m not sure of the exact details, but it can’t be hard. Some of them use their fish finders or other navigational programs rather than phones, but the principle would be the same.

    And, here’s your bench!

    • LensScaper says:

      Well found Linda! The one I found did not have the continuation that exists in this link, but I do remember spotting an identical ‘frame’ slightly further down the promenade but never made it that far on foot – I will most certainly be back. And you have also found info on the designers. Thank you so much.

  5. mark says:

    Well framed, Andy. My eye keeps wanting to create this illusion that the two people are walking on the structure and about to start walking around the loop. Much fun.

  6. Sue says:

    I agree – well framed!

  7. Chillbrook says:

    You surely can’t put a structure like that on a beach and then add a “do not climb” notice, surely. Must be something to do with the council. 🙂 Smashing picture Andy!

  8. How bizarre. It reminds me of one of those electronic toys they have where you have a metal ring and you have to slide it around the tubes without touching the sided – if you do it beeps and you have to try again!

Comments are closed.