Becoming Familiar

IMG_8244I pass this tree every morning on my way to buy the daily newspaper. It’s part of our new local landscape in Sussex and this tree is now a familiar landmark on my eight minute walk.

The  soil around here is predominantly made up of clay through which water does not drain easily, and rainwater has sat for days around the base of this tree for much of the last month. The bare skeleton of the tree reflects well in the pool of water and I’ve already taken a few shots of it; a compact camera is almost always lodged in a pocket even for a walk to fetch the paper.

While processing this shot, I flipped it vertically and derived this image. It feels stronger to me this way up with a ‘base’ that is suggestive of an ultra-wide lens. There will be other images of this tree I am quite certain as the seasons come around.

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Becoming Familiar

  1. shoreacres says:

    I had to laugh at your reference to an “eight minute walk.” That’s a degree of precision — and purposefulness — I’m not accustomed to hearing people express.

    The photo’s wonderful. Even after I read your description of what you’d done, it still took a minute or two to bring things into focus: to figure out what was up, what down, and even that there was a reflection involved. Once I understood that, the apparent protrusion in the trunk made some sense.

    What really makes the photo for me are those grasses in the water, which look amazingly like leaves still on the tree. It’s just a great image!

    • LensScaper says:

      Yes, it’s quite difficult to see where the real tree ends and the reflection begins, but that is half the fun of this. Originally the green blades of grass (now in the ‘sky’) were a little too bright so I have slightly de-saturated the green because it was looking just a little dominant. It’s eight minutes when I am ‘purposeful’!, but mostly I’m strolling, meeting people with dogs and that takes longer of course!!

  2. Ohh, I like this shot, Andy, and what you’ve done with it. Bravo.

  3. Chillbrook says:

    It took me awhile to work out what I was seeing Andy! Super shot!

Comments are closed.