Corrugated Light

_DS75337When the tide goes out on a gently sloping sandy beach accompanied by a subtle on-shore breeze, and water gets trapped in the sand’s wrinkles, and the light is just right, then there are images to be found.

This was shot on B&W film on the coast just north of Blackpool in the 1970s. It’s still one of my favourite images that did rather well in exhibitions; the result of right place, right time.

I have simply photographed the original exhibition-sized print and just tweaked the digital image in Photoshop. It’s another Post in the ongoing Print Archive series – click the link to see others – or click here to see the first Post in this series with an introduction to this process of breathing new life into old work without resorting to the complicated process of negative scanning.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White, Print Archive and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Corrugated Light

  1. Wonderful lighting Andy 🙂

  2. oneowner says:

    It’s a beautiful photo, Andy. I might try the technique of shooting a print I can no longer find the negative to see if I can get an acceptable result.

    • LensScaper says:

      It’s well worth trying out, Ken. The hardest part is finding a place to shoot where you can eliminate reflected light on the surface of the print – particularly difficult if the print is glossy.

  3. shoreacres says:

    What a lovely image. Our beaches occasionally develop this sort of patterning, but they’re so narrow that, under normal circumstances, it would be impossible to capture anything like this. On the other hand, isn’t that part of the delight of photography: capturing a particular place, in a particular way? You certainly did well here — and with the demolished building in your linked post.

    • LensScaper says:

      Tanks Linda. It requires a certain type of beach for this effect to form. I got lucky on this particular day. Glad you liked the image in the linked page. That was another image that just happened right in front of my eyes as I was photographing a neighbourhood in the north of England that was in the early stages of demolition

  4. I especially like the way the glistening is repeated in the distant water.

  5. Len says:

    I can see it is one of your favorites Andy. Great tones.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Len. This could be forty years old or thereabouts. And it was great to print it that first time – there was something about the magic of darkroom work. I still miss it in some ways but it was so time consuming.

  6. Chillbrook says:

    This photograph has certainly stood the test of time and how nice to be able to breathe new life into it, preserving it for many, many more years to come Andy!

    • LensScaper says:

      Yes – suddenly the old work has a new life. While writing are you aware Tim Rudman has an up-coming major exhibition at Laycock Abbey of Iceland. Full page Ad in the RPS journal. We will hope to catch that although it will be about a two hour drive

      • Chillbrook says:

        I haven’t opened my journal yet Andy. Thanks for the heads up. Laycock is a bit of a drive for me also but perhaps worth the effort. Tim Rudman has an interesting approach to landscape photography. I’m not a huge fan of black and white landscapes to be honest although a lot of my winter Iceland pictures are of course by the very nature of the weather, very monochromatic. I would like to see the work in person though as the printing I’m sure is exceptional and I’m know I could learn a lot from seeing the pictures in the flesh so to speak.

        • LensScaper says:

          If we managed to get there first I’ll let you know our impressions – it will probably be about a two hour drive for us too, but Tim has a reputation as a superb processor of black and white prints and I am sure his work will be well worth seeing.

Comments are closed.