A ghostly presence

IMG_8220I should start perhaps by asking you to guess what this is at first glance. And, No, it is definitely not a Selfie!

It’s part of a highly reflective metal sculpture spotted in the gardens of a National Trust property last week. I photographed the distorted reflections evident in the metalwork but it was only when I got home and loaded the image that I saw this ‘image’ within the frame.

Do you see what I see: one eye and the snout of an animal? Amazing what turns up unexpectedly sometimes.

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica, Reflection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A ghostly presence

  1. shoreacres says:

    It took me a while to find the animal. What I noticed at first was an impressionistic, many-winged dragonfly, that just happens to be perched where you saw the “eye.” It’s really interesting to see the lovely blue and brown combination in such an unusual context.

    • LensScaper says:

      Ah yes, I can see the dragonfly now too. This is an example of the joy that comes of being surprised by an image. It used to be a common event in the days of ‘film’ before digital when you got back the prints or slides from the processor and took the first look through. Nowadays it is so immediate and we usually see exactly what we capture. But just occasionally back home we see the unexpected within the image.

  2. I was going to guess “automobile,” but I couldn’t figure out what part of an automobile this could be. As you know, I love reflections, and this is a nice close crop. I like the mystery of it.

    • LensScaper says:

      Mystery is a good word, Linda. Reflections always surprise because they always bend the truth and sometimes do something really weird as in this instance

  3. Yes, I can see the eye and the animal’s snout.

  4. Meanderer says:

    Yes – it reminds me of a deer with its antler! I love these kinds of reflections.

  5. Chillbrook says:

    I can see what you see Andy! I love the colours and shapes!

  6. Len says:

    Love the distorted subject. Great eye Andy.

Comments are closed.