Cola Drinker

_DS82844Last summer I walked a number of walks in and around Milton Keynes which, quite possibly, I will never walk again as a result of our recent move down into Sussex. I don’t think that thought actually occurred to me at the time – possibly a good thing it didn’t because it would have had a maudlin effect. One of the benefits of Photography is that it enhances memories. Not only can I visualize, in my mind, those places that I have visited many times but I can view images to refresh my memory and add to it.

The image today is a new mural I discovered on a walk around the end of Willen Lake on an underpass wall. This is the second time I have stumbled upon a new artwork while walking near the lake and on both occasions I’ve experienced that frisson of excitement at seeing something special for the first time.  Below is a reminder of that first artwork I found on another underpass over three years ago.

Post045_IMG_2515_Crop

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cola Drinker

  1. oneowner says:

    When I moved I knew there were areas I would never visit again.But then I found new places that became favorites. I’m sure you will find the photogenic areas around Sussex in short order, too.

  2. seekraz says:

    There is something exciting about finding new pieces of art like this…seems to cause both the heart and mind to quicken a bit. Nice find, Andy.

  3. shoreacres says:

    The last time I was in our Hill Country, I found a reproduction of Van Gogh’s “Starry Night” under a bridge. It was rather well done, and quite a shock. It’s the surprise that’s the thing, and the mystery. Why someone would paint such a lovely rendition under a bridge where no one — except those who get out of their cars and snoop around — would see it is really quite remarkable.

    I agree that you’ll find more than enough to keep you not only occupied, but fulfilled, in your new territory. I took a look at the map, and recognized a couple of names — like Brighton. Best of all is Hastings. One of the few dates I’ve remembered over the years is 1066: the Battle of Hastings, and the beginning of the Norman conquest. Personally, I can’t wait for you to do a little roaming over there.

    • LensScaper says:

      ‘Surprise’ is always a joy to me as a Photographer. Yes, Brighton is on our list of places to visit. Our daughter used to live there for a few years and so we know it quite well. I’m really looking forward to 2016.

Comments are closed.