Passing

IMG_5313A walk around the principal streets of the West End of London is one of my favourite hunting grounds for images. I never have any agenda, I just walk and observe and sometimes wait. My attitude to the environment can be summed up in two words: ‘Surprise me’.

Refurbishment and development are constant and the boardings used to conceal, secure and protect sites are canvases that are used with increasing imagination. Sadly the general public is often blissfully unaware of their surroundings. In a rush, deep in thought or conversation, pre-occupied.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Street and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Passing

  1. That’s a great composition! 🙂

  2. shoreacres says:

    Lo and behold. We’re on the same wave length here. My new post is about how photographer Dorothea Lange helped me learn to appreciate Texas’s autumn. Here’s the quotation from her I included in the post:

    “To know ahead of time what you’re looking for means you’re then only photographing your own preconceptions, which is very limiting, and often false…

    I certainly wouldn’t criticize a photographer who works completely without plan, and photographs that to which he instinctively responds. In fact, a very good way to work is to open yourself as wide as you can, which in itself is a difficult thing to do — just to be like a piece of unexposed, sensitized material. You force yourself to watch and wait. You accept all the discomfort and disharmony that involves.”

    It looks like that waiting and watching worked for you in this instance. That’s one fine image.

    • LensScaper says:

      I must read your post later today, Linda. There are times when pre-planning is important – for example visiting a place that you’ve never been to before and may never re-visit – on those occasions having a very clear idea of the images you want to capture is critical. But I believe that in addition to that planning we should always maintain that capacity for free thinking. Get the important images and then free-up one’s eyes to see imaginatively, creatively (lateral thinking perhaps). I often say that wherever I go I see images that are recognizably ‘of’ that place, but other images that are taken ‘at’ that location but are not intrinsically associated with, or about, it.

  3. Chillbrook says:

    Very nicely captured Andy

Comments are closed.