Vivid

_DS78086This Autumn has produced some of the most vivid colours for several years thanks to what the forecasters tell us has been a perfect combination of weather conditions.

Sunshine and rain through spring and summer kept the trees watered and healthy. Warm sunny days in September and October with cool nights helped to enhance the colours, and the absence of frost and wind meant the leaves stayed on the trees allowing the trees to put on a wonderful display.

Just my luck that this Autumn has been so busy that there has been so little time to walk and soak all the colours up – but there has been plenty of driving and it has been hard to keep the eyes focused on the road ahead. A change in the weather within the last week has brought an abrupt end to the display and suddenly the world around us has been drained rapidly of colour, and although the temperatures are unseasonably high, one feels that winter will soon bite.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Autumn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Vivid

  1. hmunro says:

    Gorgeous image! In spite of your business I think you’ve managed to sum up the season beautifully in this single frame. Bravo!

  2. poppytump says:

    A real Autumnal highlight here Andy ! Leaves always seem to be on the move as I approach for a shot … a transitory moment with some lovely colours there in the background captured beautifully.
    I gather Storm Abigail is on the way … trees will be denuded of their finery all too soon as far as I’m concerned !

    • LensScaper says:

      Hi Polly. Thankfully Abigail will pass us by, but I have no doubt other storms will pursue a more southerly route. The trees have gone from fully clothed to bare branches around here in under a week.

  3. shoreacres says:

    The huge displays of color that we get from our friends in New England and elsewhere are lovely, but I think photos like this capture the feel of autumn just as well. It’s almost possible to feel that tug toward earth that the leaves surely are experiencing — beautiful.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you Linda. I find the greatest pleasure, photographically, is capturing Autumn in the small close-up details. That’s where I find the beauty – personally – although there is no denying the beauty in the broad sweeps of autumnal colours that I see so often in other people’s work.

  4. Chillbrook says:

    A lovely photograph Andy!

  5. Superb shot Andy, you certainly have captured the lighting in this shot so well – beautiful 🙂

  6. Len says:

    Nice colors Andy. Hope your move is going well.

Comments are closed.