Twice the Time

IMG_7869Regular readers of this blog will know that we are ‘in the process’ of moving house. It’s a process that seems to have consumed the vast majority of the year so far. Moving house is said to rank as one of the top five most stressful life events, and it’s a situation we will all experience more than once. For some it will be a regular occurrence. For us it’s the first time in over thirty years.

One thing we’ve learnt is that every single task, chore, decision takes twice the time you thought it would. And that includes packing, deciding what is rubbish, clearing it – or should I say deciding how to get rid of it – because actually disposing of it is not always easy. In addition, journeys to/from viewings along the UK’s most congested motorway have been more like sitting in a car park than actually travelling. At each step along the way you feel you’re nearly at the end of a task only to discover you’re not and I’m reminded of the well known quote: ‘I thought I saw the light at the end of the tunnel but it was just some bloke with a torch bringing me more work’.

Finally, today we have exchanged contracts and we move to our new house at the end of the month. The end is in sight. Except it’s not really. The removal company may be packing us up and delivering us to what we will be our home for the next decade, where my wife and I will collapse in an exhausted heap, but then we have to gird our loins and summon the energy to unpack!

A note about the image. This is the famous Dent Clock at St Pancras station London, which has been joined by a black and white replica this summer. Click here for for more information.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Twice the Time

  1. Chillbrook says:

    You’ll be there before you know it now Andy! There will be much relief all round in a months time I know. I love these clocks. I hadn’t realised they’d put up another. Dent of London still going strong. There can’t be many companies like that left here now.

  2. Good luck with the move Andy – it will soon be like an old forgotten dream!

  3. poppytump says:

    In before Christmas 😉 a great feeling it will be I know Andy ! We’re well settled now but there was a point when we’d been married 11 years and had moved 12 times . Such was Army life 😀
    Love St Pancras Station … as you say they are quite a feature those clocks . Wishing you a smooth few weeks .

    • LensScaper says:

      Lovely to hear from you Poppy and thanks for your good wishes. This is the third house we have owned in 44 years so moving is a strange idea. The problem is that staying in one place for thirty years creates a lot of stuff that is kept ‘just in case’, Hopefully we will be straight for Christmas but it would be nice if someone else did the cooking!

      • poppytump says:

        Oh I indeed know the ‘just in case’ such strange items keep some hold over us at times 🙂
        Ah yes .. you must work on that Christmas gourmet extravaganza invitation 😉 you have the perfect excuse !

  4. The way I heard it was: “The light at the end of the tunnel is the train.” At least your version isn’t fatal (maybe). Going through a similar move ourselves, I sympathize with you and your wife. Best wishes for everything turning out fine and your happy relaxation at the end.

  5. shoreacres says:

    No matter the circumstances, moving is a pain — even when it’s desired, and anticipated. There’s still that work to be done and, as you say, everything takes longer than anticipated. but it sounds as though things are working themselves out.

    Those clocks really are something. Wouldn’t it be nice if we could double the hours in our days, as well as doubling the clocks?

  6. Sue says:

    Good to hear you are finally moving, Andy!

  7. Len says:

    Cool shot Andy. Having moved a little over 10 years ago, I know what you are going through. I think I have one more move left but I am not looking forward to it unless it is in the Rockies. Good luck.

Comments are closed.