Head Part 2

_DS82868Yesterday I published a black and white image of a sculpture titled ‘Head’ by Allen Jones in a local park (click here to visit that post). Above, you can see the original colour image of this dramatic piece of sculpting.

DSC_5014_15When I see the work of other artists on show in the great outdoors I enjoy the challenge of capturing that art. In part it is documentary photography, but more than that I endeavour to find a way of producing an image that conveys something of what impresses me about that particular sculpture; and the other two images that you see here today are two attempts to achieve that effect.

_DSC1787

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Head Part 2

  1. shoreacres says:

    I love the last one. Sometimes, a title pops into my mind unbidden when I see someone’s photo, and I’d call that last one “The Cloud Breather.”

    What’s with your leafless trees? Has autumn proceeded that far, already? It’s sometimes hard for me to wrap my mind around the differences between here and more northern climes. We’re still in the tropical soup: humid as can be and in the 80s. We’re all longing for a change, believe me.

    • LensScaper says:

      Linda, I love that title: ‘The Cloud Breather’. I’ve visited this park and passed this sculpture many times and these three images are from three of those visits – so that explains the varied state of the foliage. I wouldn’t mind some of your warmth but not the humidity. We never really got a proper summer this year.

  2. Len says:

    Love all of these shots of this creative statue. My favorite, for some reason, is the middle one.

    • LensScaper says:

      I expect everyone who views this will prefer one over the others. the middle one is a merge of a Colour Solarization merged with a standard but well saturated processed version. That explains the marked delineation of the sculpture’s head against the blue sky. My favourite is the third, just very recently processed – the monochrome sky just happened during processing, no special techniques involved, just Nik software.

  3. John Linn says:

    I do like the first image in color. The green contrasts so well against the deep rust orange that I think it makes a strong photo. But all are nice.

  4. seekraz says:

    I find weathered metal to be very compelling…especially the rusting of iron-based and copper-based forms….

    Nicely captured and presented….

Comments are closed.