Head

_DS82868_bwOver the last two or three decades there has been a growing trend to place sculptures in parkland. Artists get wider recognition of their work and the public experience art in an outdoor  environment.  It’s an enriching experience.

This is ‘Head’ (1990) by Allen Jones – one of several sculptures installed in Campbell Park, Milton Keynes.

 

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Head

  1. shoreacres says:

    I love it! See the “shadow” of the trees on the hair portion of the sculpture? It’s an almost perfect echo of the treeline.

    • LensScaper says:

      That’s something I truly didn’t notice – but you spotted it, Linda. I’m posting the colour version of this and two other images of this sculpture tomorrow, so do take a look at them and I look forward to reading your comments.

  2. Len says:

    This is a cool statue Andy. There seem to be more of this creative art than we have in the States.

    • LensScaper says:

      I guess that the smaller scale of ‘parks’ over here makes the installation of art a lot easier to manage. I’m reminded of the phrase ‘Small is beautiful’.

  3. Great to see sculptures installed in parks and a magnificent subject to photograph.

Comments are closed.