Red Light

IMG_8160

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
Image | This entry was posted in Eclectica, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Red Light

  1. I like how you added the black border to this image. It reinforces all the lines within it. This photograph is fun to see. I can hear music when I look at it: plink, plank, plunk, bong.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. Some B&W images certainly do benefit from a border and this was one of them. There was no music to be heard when I took the image – just the roar of the traffic behind me. But some images do definitely suggest music to me.

  2. shoreacres says:

    It’s amazing what a spot of color can do. I’d be hard pressed to choose between this one and the prior photo. I think if I were forced, I’d take yesterday’s. Lucky for me that a forced choice isn’t necessary. Your cityscapes are so fine — if you enjoy working with the images even half as much as I enjoy seeing them, you’re having some good hours at the computer!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. Processing is enjoyable, especially when you get the end result that you are searching for. There’s so much more tolerance implicit in a B&W image, you can push the boundaries of contrast and tonal range to produce images that sometimes are far removed from the original picture seen through the viewfinder.

Comments are closed.