Documenting Art

IMG_8151I am a photographer who documents the world around me. I create visual documents, but always I try to project what I photograph in a pictorial way. In the natural world I document the seasons. In cities I document the material world – recording the work of builders, and the designs of architects.

I also enjoy documenting, through my images, the work of other artists – the window dresser, the graffiti artist, street murals, sculpture and the work of painters in galleries or wherever I find them. I do that for two reasons: firstly because in many cases I feel the work deserves to be photographed and shown to a wider audience, and secondly because when I see something with which I connect artistically I feel an overwhelming urge to capture it.

And that brings me to the image you see here today. I spotted it last week in a back corridor in a store on the way to use the ‘facilities’ (restrooms or loos). It’s very ordinary on one level, and most people walk past it without a second glance. But for me – one glance and I knew I had to capture it. What appealed was the combination of the multicoloured brush strokes and the fantastic yellow wall on which the artwork was hung – the wall colour exactly matching the central stripe of the picture. It was love at first sight!

I then had to ‘loiter with intent’ in the corridor, hiding the camera and looking as nonchalant as possible, until there was no-one in sight so I could grab this shot.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Documenting Art

  1. Sue says:

    I know what you mean – some things just ‘speak to us’! Love the image of you loitering…..

  2. lauramacky says:

    The fact that it’s on that yellow wall really makes it. I’m also cracking up about your loitering with intent, nonchalantly of course. 😉

  3. shoreacres says:

    What a fantastic combination of background and painting. Of course they had to do that on purpose — at least, I hope they did. What’s just as amazing is that yellow wall. Someone understood that human beings have a limited tolerance for beige, gray, and institutional green.

  4. I blew up the image as far as possible and could see neither a signature nor an edition number. (An edition number, 7/25 for example, indicates that it is the 7th of 25 identical prints.) I can think of four reasons for this. 1) It’s a painting executed in an art factory and probably copied from an original that was signed and editioned. See http://www.spiegel.de/international/china-s-art-factories-van-gogh-from-the-sweatshop-a-433134.html for an article about art factories in China. 2) It’s a painting or a print created by a talented but naive artist who isn’t aware of the conventions of signing and editioning. 3) It’s a painting or print created by an extraordinarily modest artist. 4) It’s a painting created by a well-known artist who is a friend of the restaurateur, and the restaurateur asked the artist not to sign it for fear that someone would steal it if the artist’s name appeared on the image. I’m hoping for options 2, 3, or 4. Especially 4.

    • LensScaper says:

      Not sure how to answer that, Linda (and it’s Sunday morning so the brain is on ‘snooze’)! I suspect the picture is nothing special, certainly not a limited edition print. There might be a signature but as the image went through Topaz Clean, and was shot on a compact, and was de-noised then that combination of factors probably would have rendered a small detail like a signature unreadable or even erased it. However – I will be re-visiting this store – we have a sofa to order for the new house – and so I will examine the picture and see what I find.

  5. So, I’m not the only one who finds photo opportunities in hallways to restrooms! That’s reassuring.

    This is an excellent shot!

  6. Chillbrook says:

    I can see why you loitered Andy!

Comments are closed.