Looking Into

_DS83554I lifted the lid – literally – on our piano a few days ago. Sadly it won’t be travelling with us when we move; it’s hard to justify the space it occupies when it is so rarely played these days. It is, however, a piece of family history: given to my father by his father for his eighteenth birthday in 1928, and re-conditioned completely in the early 70s before it was passed on to me. They don’t make pianos like this any more.

IMG_8125My family was a musical family: my father was a gifted organist and pianist, my mother sang, and I was taught the piano from an early age. As a child, Christmas was incomplete without a sing-along of family favourites around the piano and each person present was required to contribute a solo either as a pianist or a singer. My affections transferred from the piano to the guitar in my teens when Dylan, Pete Seeger, Joan Baez and others became the soundtrack to my life.

_DS83549

It’s a joy for the eyes to look inside this piano – it has weathered the years so well and shows how Upright pianos by Ibach were so beautifully crafted all those years ago.

And viewing its interior I see patterns; and patterns lead to experiments and this is what I produced from the top image, doodling away in Photoshop.

_DS83554-PC

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Looking Into

  1. shoreacres says:

    Oh, my. I don’t know that I could give up such a piece of family history. I understand, of course. All of us shed the big, unused pieces along the way: the wardrobes, the buffets, and huge tables and so on. It’s good that you have the skills to capture it in photographs. And surely you’ve made some recordings of yourself playing it?

    The design in the last image is fascinating. I really like it. I’d print and frame that one, as a slightly quirky but wonderful memento.

    • LensScaper says:

      I was a very average pianist and my playing has never been recorded (thankfully) – my father’s organ playing was captured on reel-to-reel tape many years ago – whether it is playable now is debatable. What I do have is evidence of my guitar playing on vinyl. Glad you liked the quirky abstraction – I simply play around with the image and then see what results – I actually rather like this one.

  2. What a beautiful old thing, photographed lovingly by you. It’s those things that have passed to me from my grandparents that I’m finding hardest to get rid of in my own downsizing. Your photos of the piano are a wonderful memorial to it. May it find an owner who will continue its care.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very muck Linda. we still have a collection of things from the grandparents and further back. My mother was very careful late in life to record the history of just about every article in the house – so what we have has meaning. Hopefully we may have found a buyer for the piano.

  3. Chillbrook says:

    Such a shame your piano won’t be coming with you on your move Andy. It’s a beautiful instrument. I really like your Photoshop doodle!

  4. ShimonZ says:

    I had to go through a similar adjustment recently, choosing what to take with me from the old home to the new. I know how difficult it can be. Wishing you much pleasure and inner calm in your new place.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you so much Shimon. We have just about got ourselves ready for the move. We now wait for the legal teams to conclude their work and then we ill be moved. Hopefully the ordeal will be complete by mid November.

Comments are closed.