The Art of Peeling

IMG_8126

Seen in Vauxhall, S London – disused shop front or business premises with a history of Bill-posting and removal. Result: an interesting pattern of shapes.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Art of Peeling

  1. ShimonZ says:

    wonderful. I love this one…

  2. Chillbrook says:

    I used to follow an Italian artist’s blog Andy, I think I still do but haven’t heard from him in a long while. All his work comes from torn posters on billboards, the many layers of different posted bills giving endless colour and texture. The work was amazing and if you didn’t know it was torn billboard posters, you might not guess. I love this photograph, it’s poignant, even the bill posters have sadly given up.. very sad.

    • LensScaper says:

      The amount of decay that one still finds in the back streets of London is always surprising and in such sharp contrast to the vast new developments happening within a stone’s throw.

  3. It’s interesting how lines and shapes can be expressive even when there is no intentionality involved. Very nice observation.

  4. shoreacres says:

    It looks Halloweenish to me. I see three distinct characters — two white, with a black, faceless one in the middle. The one on the left is wearing a Tonto-type mask and the one on the right appears to be long-nosed, and wearing a witche’s hat.

    It is nearly midnight here — perhaps it’s time I went to bed!

  5. Len says:

    Urban decay can be a fascinating subject as you have proved Andy.

Comments are closed.