A new horizon

_DS83246Moving house has been described as one of life’s most stressful experiences. For us it’s been a long journey with its ‘ups’ and ‘downs’. Selling our house was the easy bit. Finding our next house has been a five-month marathon search during which we have viewed 40 properties. There have been moments of hope and moments of acute disappointment. But somehow we have held fast to the dream that out there, just over the next horizon, there was a house that we would fall in love with. And now, finally, we’ve found that special house and we’re happy and relieved; and also surprised because eventually it all happened so suddenly.

Can you see the way forward? I can’t.

Normal life has been on hold for far too long – we never got a summer holiday. I can’t remember the last year when we didn’t get away for a proper break. Photography too has taken a back seat and it is weeks since I found the time (and energy) to visit and comment on your posts. There is still plenty to do. The house will have to be packed up; difficult decisions will have to be made on what to keep and what to jettison, but we are on the last lap.

_DS79606Hopefully I can get back to my daily check through the Blogosphere. Thanks to all of you who have continued to view, like and comment on my rather erratic posting despite my failure to reciprocate. That means a lot – thank you all.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in A Personal Viewpoint and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A new horizon

  1. shoreacres says:

    How wonderful for you! I know the looking over the months must have been wearisome, but in the end it’s much better that you had more trouble buying than selling. And, yes: that sorting and packing is a chore. That’s one reason I’ve already been decluttering and downsizing in advance of the eventual move that probably will be in my future. It may not be for ten or fifteen years, and will only involve a move from apartment to apartment, but still: it’s easier if the decisions about “stuff” already have been made. I learned that lesson pretty firmly after moving my mother twice.

    Don’t worry about us. We”ll be here when you get back!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you Linda. My wife and I are hoarders – and that has made the de-cluttering a lot harder. I think we have learnt the lesson the hard way – as we go through ‘stuff’ we are constantly thinking: why did I ever keep/buy that.

  2. Chillbrook says:

    I’m so glad you’ve finally found the house that you wanted Andy. It’s strange how when the right one comes along, all things just seem to slot into place. I love your very illustrative images! 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. Finding the right images took a bit of time, but they feel to fit with the next stage in life. Strange how life can flip in the space of days. On Monday we were all set for a second viewing of a property that we were really keen on (though it would have required a tighter down-size than we really wanted) but the elderly seller suddenly pulled the plug and withdrew the house from sale – overwhelmed with the demand from potential buyers. We felt deflated. The very next day I was sent an email of a property just launched from an agent – one look at the image and I just felt an immediate connection. We were the first buyers through the door on Thursday, thought carefully about price, put in an offer on Friday and it was accepted and the house was removed from the market. What a week!

  3. seekraz says:

    Congratulations on the found home, Andy…those can certainly be stressful times. I enjoy the selection of photos…especially the last one with that huge, cloud-filled sky….very nice.

  4. Lisa Gordon says:

    Congratulations on finding your new home.
    We just went through the moving process in April of this year, preceded by a year of packing, sorting, etc. It is indeed stressful, but it does pass! 🙂

  5. I am pleased you have found your dream house Andy – hope you will be very happy there. These photos of yours are superb 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks so much James. I’m sure we will be happy there – the house just feels ‘right’ – it did so immediately. I shall be further away from N Wales and the Lakes but closer to the South Downs – plenty of walking there. Glad you liked the images.

  6. Thank you, Andy, for continuing to post during this stressful time, and for keeping us informed on how things are going for you. Best wishes for your new life in your new home.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks so much for your kind words, Linda – they are greatly appreciated. I will indeed refer to our progress from time to time, particularly when the move is complete!

  7. Len says:

    So glad you have finally found your new safe haven Andy. It is always a challenge to move. Hope you settle in quickly and get a “new” normal back.

Comments are closed.