Steel Grey

IMG_8011A different day, a different mood, a very different sky.

This building featured in a post two weeks ago: Sky Grid. On that day the sun shone. Yesterday was a very grey day for the last day of the meteorological ‘summer’ over here in the UK. I stood on the platform at the local railway station and stared at this building as I’ve done many times before and felt cheated. Summer seems to have gone AWOL for the month of August – there have been brief tantalising glimpses of blue sky and warmth, but far too often it rained and it was cool and we gazed at cloud-clad skies.  And we now stare Autumn in the face and the most depressing fact of all is that the Autumn schedules on the TV are starting, and one or two of them reach their climax in Christmas week.

I haven’t got out with a camera much in recent weeks, but it went with me to London yesterday and despite the gloom I had a good day – I’ll share some of the results with you over the next few days.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Steel Grey

  1. shoreacres says:

    Once upon a time, I had an evening bag that was made up of tiny, silver squares, linked together in such a way that the bag was flexible. This reminded me of it instantly, except that the blues and grays of your reflections are prettier than the uniform silver of the bag.

    • LensScaper says:

      I know exactly what you are referring to, There were also a few attempts by the fashion houses to create dresses made of similar small squares. I actually find this ‘grey’ sky more interesting than the ‘sunny day’ version – each small pane or square seems to feel like an individually distinct reflector.

  2. Len says:

    I actually like the tones and the cloudy days Andy. A bit different from the norm.

  3. That is a great shot Andy, well spotted 🙂

  4. John Linn says:

    Amazing how much subtle color is in those reflections… not only blues but magentas tones too.

    • LensScaper says:

      It’s the subtleness of the colour and the way each pane feels a distinct entity that appealed to me. And I de-saturated the Magenta – but it’s still there!!

  5. I LOVE this quilted window wall. And the street lamp is perfectly place.

    • LensScaper says:

      So glad you like it, Linda. It took me a few shots to decide on how to include the street lamp. I really like that choice of word – quilt – it is a bit like a hand-sewn quilt of individual patches – each one unique. Sunny days are not always the best days for images.

Comments are closed.