The Money Tree

_DS83500_WP‘Money doesn’t grow on trees’ is a well-known phrase. Probably we’ve all used it – most likely to a child who has yet to understand that there isn’t a never-ending supply of money to buy whatever they would like.

_DS83502_WPThis tree suggests that just occasionally money really does grow on trees. This is a fallen tree at Aira Force, a popular tourist destination in the Lake District. I have no idea for how long visitors have been hammering coins into this trunk with a readily available piece of rock, but once the craze catches on it’s hard to pass this spot without searching one’s pockets to find a coin to add to the monetary value of the tree.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Money Tree

  1. shoreacres says:

    This is ever so much more interesting than the coin-in-the-fountain tradition. For one thing, it obviously takes some effort. All of those bent coins and damaged edges make that clear.

    I’m always curious how something like this begins. I think more often than not, it’s sheer impulse. I used to prowl a property in our hill country. One day, I found a rock with a hole in it, and for no good reason, hung it on a tree branch. A few years later, the property had quite a few rocks just hanging around. Who knows how long people will be seeing them and thinking, “What is this?

    • LensScaper says:

      It takes some effort certainly and in contrast to the coin-in-the-fountain version some cheeky chappie can’t wait til midnight and clean up all the coins for pocket money – all those hammered into the tree are beyond recycling as legitimate currency. I need to think of a tgrend that I can set in motion, I think!

  2. I can think of several other money trees, one being on the PyG Track up Snowdon – it seems to become compulsive once someone starts the ball roling.

  3. I have a photo of this tree to!

    • LensScaper says:

      A popular site clearly, Lucy. It took three circles of the car park before we found somewhere to park. For once I wished it had rained a bit more in the previous week or two (what was I thinking, it threw it down the following day in typical Lake District fashion – be careful what you wish for!).

  4. Lisa Gordon says:

    This is so unique!
    I love it.

  5. Len says:

    That is quite interesting and unusual Andy.

Comments are closed.