To Infinity

IMG_7973_TwirlAfter an exhausting ten days or so, I’ve spent a few days endeavouring to relax. With a little bit of time to kill I inevitably turn to the computer, search through the files, and see if I can spot an image that I can play around with and produce something far removed from the original.

Here’s one that is the product of an hour’s work. The satisfying part of this process is having a vague initial idea and working to see how that idea can translate into an intriguing image and then working to refine it. It helps to have a concept at the back of one’s mind.

IMG_7973_WPHere was the starting point. It’s actually the scenery at the back of the stage of a theatre production of ‘To Kill a Mocking Bird’ that we saw recently at The Barbican Theatre in London. An excellent production incidentally, and both my wife and I have been re-reading the book.

It’s an image that is all about line and light and shade. The image was stretched into a long thin letter box image by repeating it horizontally (think four stripes of wallpaper). Then manipulating the image with Photoshop’s Distortion filters: Polar Co-ordinates, Radial Blur, and Twirl.

And then it’s all down to what you see: A Worm Hole, a Black Hole, a scene reminiscent of the movie 2001 – A Space Odyssey, or something entirely different?

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Abstractions. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to To Infinity

  1. I just love this Andy. Fantastic work and an hour well spent. I find the processing part very satisfying and I’m sure that’s how you feel about this.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you so much Norma. It’s very satisfying when something interesting turns up on the desktop – but you don’t get to see all the ones that go nowhere and end up in the trash bin!

  2. Len says:

    That is quite the transformation Andy. Very creative my friend.

  3. oneowner says:

    Very creative and well done, Andy.

  4. Sue says:

    Oh, I think it’s the tail of the Ooslem bird going around in ever decreasing circles……

  5. John Linn says:

    To Infinity and Beyond!
    — Buzz Lightyear

    Nice image!

  6. seekraz says:

    Striking image, Andy….and are you re-reading the book in preparation for reading Harper Lee’s new book…?

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Scott. My wife’s just finished ‘Go Set a Watchman’, but wasn’t particularly impressed with it. I think I will give it a try when I’ve finished ‘To Kill a Mocking Bird’

  7. shoreacres says:

    “Go Set a Watchman” is a pretty iffy proposition. You might enjoy reading this article before taking it on. Several critics agree with me (!) that “Watchman” isn’t a sequel at all, but a prequel: a first draft that didn’t succeed.

    It’s also of interest that Lee tossed the manuscript of “Mockingbird” out of the window of her NYC apartment, into the snow. Then, she called her editor, who ordered her to get her sweet little rear end out there, and pick it up.

    All things considered, I think your photo’s a pretty good representation of the history of Harper Lee’s book(s)!

  8. One word will suffice for this stunner: YOWZA. 🙂

  9. Emma14 says:

    I see a tree stump… Or at least that’s what I thought it was at first: some weird twisted, twirled tree stump.
    Really cool image, and I like the way you played with it!
    Emma

Comments are closed.