Another day, another picture

IMG_7987_WPThere are some places, some objects, some features that no matter how many times I pass by them I still want to re-photograph them.

This sculpture in Cavendish Square, London titled Solo 11 by Naomi Press is one such object that always captures – demands –  my attention.

It was placed here in 2012 as part of the build up to the London Olympics and the impression given by the Press Release at the time was that it would be a temporary feature in this square. Three years later I am delighted to see that it remains in place. The reflectivity of the steel yields a constantly changing surreal vision of its surroundings, influenced by the time of the day, and the light.

If you are in London and have a few minutes to spare, check this square out – it’s only five minutes walk from Oxford Circus.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Art and Scultpure and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Another day, another picture

  1. John Linn says:

    Really neat how you got the natural dark green behind and the urban architecture in the reflection. Nice shot.

  2. Chillbrook says:

    I just love that reflection Andy! It’s a superb sculpture and I really like the way you’ve captured it!

  3. shoreacres says:

    It was interesting to read the press releases associated with this installation, and to see the artist. They did note that it would be a temporary installation. How wonderful that it wasn’t — at least to this point — and that you were able to get such a delightful image from its reflections.

    I hope all’s going well with “the process.” It surely must be both exciting and a bit of a chore.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda – I’m hoping this sculpture is here to stay, I for one would be sorry to see it disappear. The ‘process’ is exhausting with many false hopes, and so far it is un-rewarding. But we are persevering doggedly.

  4. Len says:

    A fine edition to your unique patterns gallery Andy.

Comments are closed.