Ups and Downs

IMG_7902Another image from near King’s Cross in London – a reflective boarding surrounding a construction site. Not many developers go to the trouble to use materials like this to partition themselves off from the general public but where there is a reflection there is an image.

The Ups and Downs of this image are a bit like life. I have mentioned previously that we have been planning a house move to be closer to our daughter. We are one step nearer: our house is sold. Currently I am dog-sitting our daughter’s dog and house-hunting on a daily basis. I planned to copy across a number of images from the iMac to my laptop, or upload them to WordPress (better still) before leaving home – but in the hurry to complete a multitude of tasks, that got forgotten. So I am short of images, and more importantly also short of time with everything else that is going on and has to be thought about. My apologies to all of you who I follow and ‘like’ and comment on – I have missed seeing your work and will endeavour to find more time to visit your work…

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Eclectica and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Ups and Downs

  1. oneowner says:

    You don’t have to apologize for an image like this. Good luck with the house hunting.

  2. Sue says:

    All the very best with the house hunting, glad you have sold yours – half the battle!

  3. shoreacres says:

    Congrats on getting your house sold. And no apologies needed, for sure. As long as you pop up now and then so we know all is well, if busy, that’s good enough.

    This is an amazing image. The reflection makes the sidewalk look as though it’s composed of layers of sedimentary rock — very cool.

  4. John Linn says:

    The picture is pretty trippy.

    I looked for the photographer in the reflection but did not see him.

  5. ehpem says:

    Great image – developers that decorate their construction sites this way deserve kudos.

    Good luck with the house hunting. My daughter and her family recently moved 4 hours away so I understand your motivation for moving – we sure miss the frequent contact with them all, especially our granddaughter.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ehpem – boardings are increasingly becoming Art. Journeys can be bearable if you know that a journey that should take ‘X’ hours, can be reliably completed in ‘X’ hours. Between us and our daughter lies the M1 and the M25 – not sure if the M25 was built during your time in the UK or not. The M25 is referred to often as the biggest car park in the UK, its traffic jams are horrendous. A journey that should take 1.75 hours has been known to take up to five.

      • ehpem says:

        The M25 had just been finished when I arrived in the UK/London for a few years. I didn’t have a car then, so rarely used it.
        In my part of the world traffic is not much of an issue, though of course that is relative and people still complain about it. There is however one bottleneck that can add an hour to a trip and sadly that is between us and our daughter/granddaughter. What should be a 3.5 hour drive took nearly 5 the last time we went for a visit. Five hours is too long to just go for a day visit, 3.5 is stretching it nearly to the breaking point.

        • LensScaper says:

          Sounds like you suffer the same problem as we do – a nightmare for planning. It makes all the difference as you say – the do-able becomes not do-able. Had a good day house-hunting today.

  6. No apology needed, Andy. I certainly know how it is. Congratulations on getting your house sold. You did well with this reflective partition!

  7. Chillbrook says:

    Glad you’ve made the sale Andy! I’m sure there’s the perfect home out there just waiting for you to view.. I enjoyed the reflections in the image.

  8. Len says:

    This is pretty cool Andy. Not only have you spotted new patterns, the distortions make this special. Good luck on your house hunting. Hope you settle back in soon.

Comments are closed.