Urban Forest

IMG_7980London went through a phase of using concrete as a facing material for construction a few decades ago. It has not weathered well. The concrete now looks tired, drab and in need of a clean. In some places it is stained dramatically – dark patches showing the run off of rainwater and pollution.

This is a section of a high-rise block of apartments at the Barbican in London. Stained concrete balconies. I saw the patterning and then I saw the pine trees in silhouette.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Urban Forest

  1. Chillbrook says:

    I thought they were balcony plants at first look Andy! The pollution is very dirty. Keeping the my balcony clean when I was in London was a constant problem. Black dust that turned to black soup when it rained was the main problem. Nicely spotted!

  2. John Linn says:

    But actually with your photo treatment I think it looks pretty good. Maybe in person not so much?

    • LensScaper says:

      There were at least a dozen storeys stacked on top each with the same recurring ‘motif’. It looked really rather grim en masse, but concentrate the eye on one small section and suddenly I saw something different – the pattern. As you know well, John, there’s a beauty in the detail.

  3. Sue says:

    I have to say, interesting as photographs!

  4. shoreacres says:

    I would have sworn that it was another example of street art — someone decorating all that concrete with visions of a forest. Even now that I know the backstory, it still seems a bit appealing — but maybe not so much in larger chunks, in real life.

  5. seekraz says:

    Good eye, Andy….

  6. Len says:

    This is way cool Andy. You have created a superb piece of photography.

  7. E. Brooks says:

    Well you certainly turned the “tired and drab” into a very nice composition, Andy!

Comments are closed.