Waiting

The walkway at King’s Cross station in London, that crosses over the main concourse, is frequently a photo opportunity.

IMG_7909There is always someone on the move or standing up there waiting: watching the departure boards, phoning or texting, or just passing the time. The light streams in through the roof transforming people into silhouettes.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in London, Seen on the Street and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Waiting

  1. I like this shot Andy 🙂

  2. Chillbrook says:

    I love the hard geometric shapes with the very ungeometric human silhouettes superimposed on this image particuarly Andy! Superb!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. Yes, they make an intriguing mix of shapes and outlines. I shoot this scene at every visit – always something slightly different, but always that same mix.

  3. Sue says:

    I was about to say much what Adrian said, so I’ll just second what he said!

  4. shoreacres says:

    The windows and structural supports look like hoarfrost. It’s a very elegant photograph — I’d be happy to pass some time there.

    • LensScaper says:

      That’s a fascinating reference, Linda, and I can see what you mean. This is one of a number of places in London where I enjoy just standing and watching people pass by – the pictures just happen if one is patient enough to wait.

  5. Len says:

    Mr Pattern on the prowl again. Great shot Andy.

  6. Jimi Jones says:

    All of the lines seem to be converging toward the main subjects in silhouette. Nicely done, Andy.

Comments are closed.