The Palace of Westminster

It’s a long time since I was in London at Sundown, but last week we were walking along the Southbank with our son on a perfect summer’s evening as the sun was going down behind the Palace of Westminster, or the Houses of Parliament as they are better known.

IMG_7940I got left behind as my wife and son walked on ahead, while I stopped every minute or two for another shot. Images like this are hackneyed and taken by the million, but there’s nothing quite like having a version of one’s own.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in London and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Palace of Westminster

  1. oneowner says:

    Beautiful sunsets are a requirement for every photographer, like baskets of kittens.

  2. seekraz says:

    Beautiful silhouette, Andy…and I’ve never seen the image here, so it’s all new to me!

    • LensScaper says:

      It sounds strange to say that approaching 70 this is the first time I can recall seeing sunset over the Houses of Parliament!

      • seekraz says:

        So it wasn’t hackneyed and overdone for you then, Andy…it was a “once in a lifetime” (thus far) event. 🙂

        • LensScaper says:

          No, not hackneyed for me, Scott. There is a well-established, and documented, love/hate relationship with images of sunset among many photographers (in the UK at least) that has given rise to the letters NABSS – standing for ‘Not another b***** sunset’! I understand the attitude but don’t subscribe to it personally. If I see a sunset I capture it, but generally hide it from public view!

  3. Thanks for that last, forgiving, sentence, Andy. (And I did enjoy your photo.)

  4. Superb shot Andy 🙂

  5. shoreacres says:

    Well, I’ve never seen such a shot. I think it’s beautiful, and you have quite a sky to go with the silhouettes. I’m not too fond of technicolor sunsets, anyway. This one suits me just fine.

  6. Such a dramatic sky you have captured and of course set against a well know skyline. A very nice photo.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks very much Otto. We must have spent fifteen minutes walking along the embankment watching the sun sink lower in the sky and I took a series of images. This was the one that had the most pleasing silhouette.

  7. Chillbrook says:

    A smashing silhouette Andy. The sky is superb and as you say, nothing like having your own version of a scene that is often photographed. We all bring something new.

  8. poppytump says:

    You ‘ve said it Andy *one’s own version … Lovely photo I’m not agin at all to sunset pictures … and I’d not heard of NABBS .. :-/ just as I’m looking through some pics I’ve taken this week down In Sussex … 😀
    Have a super weekend Andy , temperatures a little less tropical thank heavens .

    • LensScaper says:

      Glad to hear you enjoy sunsets too, Poppy. The F1 Grand Prix comes our way this weekend – and the Red Arrows will fly straight over our house repeatedly on Sunday, so it won’t be quiet. We will be down in Sussex in the next week or two – househunting has shifted a bit south of the Surrey Hills.

  9. Len says:

    It is hard to not recognize this famous landmark, even in silhouette. Lovely light.

Comments are closed.