Abstracted Strips

Those of you who know London well may recognise the swirling diagonal lines of the building called the Gherkin in this image, although the Gherkin’s facade is merely the canvas upon which an adjoining building is projected – presented as a series of disjointed strips. An abstraction. Another joy for the eye, courtesy of glass.

_DS81508_cropI had meant to write a longer post with a set of images, but that will have to wait for when I have a little more time. I spent most of yesterday in a car south of London viewing housing developments. And today has been spent hedging and mowing and clipping and trimming. Time is at a premium currently – there’s just so much to do.  My viewing of your work remains limited for which I must apologise, and my thanks to all of you who continue to take the trouble to view mine – it’s much appreciated.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Abstracted Strips

  1. shoreacres says:

    Gherkin? Like a pickle? That’s just funny. I do like the way the curves and the angles complement one another. The beige panels look like the folded paper fans we used to make, and once again you have that little something extra over on the left. It’s a wonderful image.

  2. oneowner says:

    You don’t have to apologize as long as you keep coming up with great images like this.

  3. Love this. You have a great eye Andy.

  4. ShimonZ says:

    Very interesting photograph. I enjoyed the view.

  5. Sue says:

    Love this image, Andy – the patterns, the limited colour palette. A great abstract!

  6. poppytump says:

    Glass corrugated paper and a helter skelter exterior stairway …. your reflective views always yield a topsy turvy view of the world Andy !
    Both of your latest activities sound exhausting in different ways . Hope you get time off with your camera for good behaviour 😉

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Poppy – it is a topsy-turvy world out there where the buildings interact in unexpected ways. Got out with the camera today by way of a change – evidence will be published tomorrow!

  7. This is superb Andy 🙂

  8. Len says:

    Another terrific image of London’s patterns, Andy.

  9. Chillbrook says:

    This is a superb image Andy. Where I used to teach I had a view of this building from the classroom. It remains one of my favourites!

Comments are closed.