Building Maintenance

On a grand scale…

_DS81544

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Building Maintenance

  1. Love this. Well seen Andy.

  2. shoreacres says:

    I looked at this image “as is,” and then I gave it a look with the far left, more complex section removed. It’s really quite amazing how much interest that section adds to the photo as a whole. It’s as though it helps to balance the presence of the men — or something. I don’t know much about composition but I know you got it right!

    • LensScaper says:

      Balance is the right word, Linda. That left third is so different – incongruous perhaps – that at first glance it looks like it doesn’t belong, shouldn’t belong. But if you remove it the image loses balance and the maintenance cradle assumes too large a position in the cropped frame. ‘As is’, the cradle is on the intersection of thirds – a strong position in the frame. That’s one of the so-called rules of composition, although I am not a lover of rules; at heart I’m a maverick and happy to call myself one!

  3. oneowner says:

    Great shot, Andy. This is the reason I don’t do windows.

  4. Sue says:

    Well caught, great composition, Andy. I would not want to be in that basket!!

  5. Chillbrook says:

    Great colours and line in this one Andy.. as for the job these guys are doing.. not for me! 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. I’ve seen some other maintenance workers simply abseiling down the outside of these tall buildings. Some of them I believe are climbers supplementing their incomes. I can abseil, but not with those huge drops beneath my feet!

  6. Len says:

    I have a new =nickname for you Andy. Mr. Pattern. You have such a great eye for shots like these.

    • LensScaper says:

      Ha! I’ll accept that – I’ve had far worse. I was known as Dr Hook for quite some time – but I couldn’t sing quite as well as Dennis Locorierre – heard him on concert as a solo artist about three years ago – great evening for a singalong!

  7. ehpem says:

    Really like this one Andy. Not only does the shot need the left band, but it needs the workers and their cradle as well, though it would be a more interesting shot without the workers in the same frame, than with the workers and no left side. It is interesting to see a shot like this and try to figure out why it works so well.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ehpem for those thoughts. I shot this without the left panel as well as with it, and the version I have used is exactly as shot with a bit of work to get all the verticals vertical. The inclusion of the left panel defies logic because it is so different from the rest of the image – one would expect it to be a jarring distraction, but it doesn’t seem to be. It just provides a counter-point to the men in the cradle.

Comments are closed.