Water Lily Leaves_2

It’s surprising how many Stately Home gardens include a lake or pond. And where there is water in a landscaped environment, Water Lilies are likely to be found. No flowers at this time of the year, but the leaves themselves are often photogenic.

This is the fifth post to feature Water Lily leaves, the others can be viewed by clicking here: that will display the opening paragraphs of the previous posts on the subject.

_DS82890I find the combination of colour, and the right light, very attractive. Processing with a gentle tweak from Topaz Clean and Nik HDR Efex Pro 2 helps to sharpen the edges, add interest to the leaves, at the same time as smoothing the water.

Click on the image to see a sharper and better enlargement.

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Country Houses & Gardens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Water Lily Leaves_2

  1. shoreacres says:

    I’ve never seen water lily leaves this color. Were they green initially, and then transformed — perhaps by cold? I have some plants that will turn reddish in cool weather.

    In any event, they’re beautiful. We mostly have invasive water hyacinth drifting around now, after our recent flooding rains. But we do have native water lilies — I should head to the nature preserve to see if they’ve begun blooming yet.

  2. oneowner says:

    Very nice shot, Andy. I have HDR EFex but I never think to use it like this. I may steal this idea.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. Some of the presets in HDR Efex produce hideous results, but in my experiments I’ve come across one or two that occasionally hit the sweet spot.

  3. Chillbrook says:

    Lovely shot Andy! Great colours and I really like the milky hue to the water.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. The joy of Topaz Clean is the way it will smooth out very minor detail. I use it in some of my architectural images where I want to produce a ‘clean’ result that is all about pattern and colour. But it also works on water when dirt and other detritus can be irritating.

  4. I’ve not seen water lily leaves this color either. It’s good of you to have noticed them and recorded this toned-down image. Sometimes subtle carries the day.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Steve – yes, an image doesn’t have to shout to be heard, as you know so well from your own work which I always look forward to seeing.

Comments are closed.