Coming and Going

Photography is not about luck but about opportunity. Stand still, be patient, and opportunities will come to you. All you have to be able to do is see them and capture them.

_DS81130This is another image from the vast turbine hall at Tate Modern (dating from the time when this building was a power generator) – click here for a previous image taken on the same day. Often home to monumental works of art, in between times the turbine hall is simply a space that people traverse. There is a mezzanine level that spans the space – ideal for people watching. A few minutes waiting, camera in hand, will almost always be rewarded.

It was the juxtaposition of the various people in the frame that attracted me – their arrangement, and their varied mobilities. I converted this to B&W because colour seemed largely irrelevant – it is the shapes and the contrast that create the image.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White, Seen on the Street and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Coming and Going

  1. Sue says:

    Too right – photography is not about luck, but opportunity. Recognising what you have in front of you when it happens…..

  2. Lignum Draco says:

    Opportunity and a good eye for a nice scene makes a world of difference. Nice shot.

  3. oneowner says:

    I’ve never been to the Tate but obviously it’s a great place to photograph.

  4. Good advice, Andy.

    Earlier this spring I took a class from famed National Geographic photographer Sam Abell, who stressed “Compose. And wait.” I have to admit that I am not very good at the “and wait” part, but after Sam’s class have targeted that as something to work on!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Melinda. The ‘wait’ part is easy (or easier) if you are on your own, but if ‘waiting’ requires everyone else to wait with you then it is far from easy and one’s mind inevitably becomes split between the hunt for an image and the need to not hold your companions up.

      • Caz says:

        That last comment certainly resonates. I like to wait for the right moment but find I can only do so if I’m alone for fear of being an irritation to those who are with me!

        • LensScaper says:

          Welcome to my blog, Caz, and thanks for your comment. Otto von Munchow who writes a superb blog called ‘In Flow’ said that ‘Solitude is the sine quo non of creation, discovery and epiphany’. That is so true. Photography and companionship are never an easy match.

          • Caz says:

            Thanks. Happy to be here. Pretty sure I follow Otto’s blog too. Funnily enough I am on the way to London with a friend from overseas today to do the tourist thing. I have brought my camera along but more in hope than expectation!

  5. shoreacres says:

    I love the matching shirts on the two boys. I think they’re siblings rather than twins, though they’re nearly the same size. And don’t you hope that older gentleman has someone else to help him keep those two “runners” corralled? You’ve captured perfectly his attempt to keep up with the younger generation.

    • LensScaper says:

      You’ve picked out the details that I find so appealing too, Linda. I think that older gentleman has the younger child on a rein, if you click on the image toe enlarge it, I think you will see what I mean. I like the way the hair of the girl is streaming behind her as she takes off.

  6. seekraz says:

    Nicely done, Andy…and I agree that color was unnecessary in this one…might have even been a distraction.

  7. Chillbrook says:

    This is a wonderful space that I have people watched in many times. I love the little girl running and Dad or Granddad looking like he’s about to set off after her. You can identify all the different paces so readily. Excellent stuff.

    • LensScaper says:

      It’s always worth a pause here to watch the world come and go. I particularly like the contrast between the little girl and the lady with the stick, who looks straight ahead and walks at her own pace

Comments are closed.