We Differ

Walking around the streets of London, camera in hand, I come across all sorts of little cameos. Some are obvious, some not so obvious. And some are only in the mind of the photographer – the street scenes that create themselves unintentionally.

_DS82105

It was lunch-time. Builders, decorators, workmen were having their midday break. Perched anywhere. This man was seated just in front of a boarded-up shop front that was undergoing a makeover – the posters themselves advertising the soon-to-be-opened new shop. Perhaps the site was where he worked. He appeared lost in his own thoughts, watching the world go by.

I was struck by the inherent tension created by the two men – staring intently in two entirely different directions.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Street and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to We Differ

  1. Sue says:

    Right up my street, Andy…I love capturing ‘accidental’ cameos!

  2. shoreacres says:

    And what an interesting juxtaposition of “style” and “substance.” I suspect you can figure out which I’ve determined to be which. 🙂

  3. One of your very best, in my opinion. Besides the overall effect, what I like are the way the bits of red are distributed, the strips on both sides of the composition, and the posture of the worker.

    • LensScaper says:

      That’s very kind of you Linda, thank you. This was one of a line of posters and I decided a needed darker colours to either side to ‘frame’ the final crop. Just needed a bit of cloning to have clean borders without any of the ‘content’ of the neighbours intruding.

  4. Chillbrook says:

    Superb photograph Andy! You’ve certainly got an eye for such images!

  5. Love this juxtaposition Well done, Andy. 🙂

  6. hmunro says:

    This is a wonderful image! Kudos to you for spotting it — and then for capturing it so beautifully.

  7. Emma14 says:

    I love how different the two men in this photo are! Fantastic contrast. It made me smile : ).
    Emma

Comments are closed.