Spider’s break

Just occasionally I spot the WordPress weekly challenge and actually post an image that fit’s the bill. This week’s challenge is to capture something ‘Broken‘. This pane of glass in a closed-down bar has been comprehensively broken and the sellotape attempting to seal the cracks looks like it too has seen better days.

_DS81845_col2I posted a B&W version of this image last autumn when I wrote a series of posts about Margate. Click here to go to the final post about that seaside town in which I talked about how the town was struggling to regenerate itself.

I rather like it in colour – not that there is much colour in it, but sometimes a small amount of colour can lift an image – B&W can be very bleak, but when one is contemplating improvement, then there needs to something there that hints at change for the better and colour can certainly ‘hint’.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Spider’s break

  1. Sue says:

    Great title!

  2. Levysoro says:

    Well, you’re right writing that that window has seen better days…

  3. Chillbrook says:

    I really like the colour version too Andy! Smashing image!

  4. That has come up great Andy. I like the colour 🙂

  5. shoreacres says:

    The color adds to the effect like the rainbows add to a diamond. I like the way it’s scattered about here and there in the image. It’s really attractive — moreso than might be expected, given the subject matter.

    And you’re right about color being related to regaining health. How many times have you heard, “You just don’t have any color in your cheeks,” or, “She seems to have lost her color.” Maybe this old girl is getting her color back, too.

    • LensScaper says:

      Always good to read your ‘take’ on post and an image, Linda. It always strikes me as very sad when buildings and businesses that have fallen on hard times are then subjected to acts of mindless vandalism: the equivalent of ‘kicking a man when he’s down’. Bars are part of the historical narrative of towns and cities – when one closes, a chapter of history ends with it.

Comments are closed.