The Cream House

There’s a glass-clad building on the corner of Euston Road and Hampstead Road (just opposite Warren Street Tube station) that I walk by quite often, and every time I pass that building I see a different reflection. It depends on which side of the road I am on, the point at which I take a long hard look, the light, and the time of day.

IMG_7671_clean_1This is the latest. It’s such a simple reflection of a property on the opposite corner of Hampstead Road and yet I love the subtle warping that has transformed an unremarkable building into something really rather special. The sky was blue and the light was right – the perfect weather .

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Cream House

  1. shoreacres says:

    Remember that old (1968!) song by Richard Harris, called MacArthur Park? I haven’t thought of it in years, but your photo brought to mind the lines, “MacArthur’s Park is melting in the dark / All the sweet green icing flowing down…”
    The building looks like a cake that’s been left out in the rain. I never thought I’d see something that accorded so well with Harris’s lyrics, but there it is!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda – I have edited… It must be years since I heard MacArthur’s Park. Just had a nostalgic listen. The concept of ‘melting’ isn’t something I had thought of but I ‘get it’ (as they day these days). As for nostalgia, music can be so reminiscent of an era. All I need is the opening bars of a ‘Blood, Sweat and Tears’ number (usually one from the Greatest Hits album) to be transported back to about 1974 when I was one of a group of Junior Doctors working in Paeds and Maternity who used to hang out and listen to the band late at night while waiting for the next summons to the Delivery Suite. That still remains one of my favourite bands of all time. Those were the days…

  2. I especially like the contrast between the strict grid of the windows doing the reflecting and the wobbliness of the building being reflected. Color add a nice touch—especially the slight difference in the colors of window glass. Still, I’d bet it even looks good in B&W.

    • LensScaper says:

      Hi Linda, and thank you – you’ve hit on exactly what appeals to me – that precisely aligned grid. And I am a little obsessive about getting that grid right even though on the original the grid is not likely to be ‘aligned’ with (usually) converging verticals. Yes, it does look good in B&W but I rather like the subtle variations in colour that you refer to. Something similar but quite different (oxymoron, I know) on Wednesday!

  3. Len says:

    Your eye for building reflections results in many terrific photos Andy.

Comments are closed.