Two Adults, One Toddler

While in Caterham, Surrey a couple of weeks ago I walked through a small shopping mall.     I was attracted by the light at the open end of the covered mall and the silhouettes of the shoppers moving out of the shadows to the lit areas and vice versa.

I shot this image on-the-go: it was an instinctive decision. Purely spontaneous with no thought – just my creative heart saying to my eye: ‘shoot that’. I really didn’t think about what was there. I shot and kept walking – didn’t even glance at the screen.IMG_7726_1

Back home on the iMac it didn’t look particularly special and then I enlarged it on the screen and looked more closely at the figures and saw this little cameo of two adults holding the hands of  a little toddler.IMG_7726_3BW

The quality wasn’t brilliant – you can see that it was a very small area of the original image shot on a Canon G10 [F4, 1/60secs at ISO 80]. I haven’t a clue why the camera was on ISO 80 – perhaps the dial got nudged – it happens all too easily. I’ve processed this  three or four times trying various ways to extract the best from that small area. And this is the best I’ve come up with. Quality may be poor overall but I love that little threesome.  I’m so glad I took that image.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Two Adults, One Toddler

  1. Andy, thanks for an excellent illustration on why we should follow our gut feelings, even when (or especially when!) we don’t know WHY we’re shooting.

    On another, completely unrelated, topic, I’ve just returned from a visit to our mutual blogging pal Ehpem in Victoria, BC. While I was there, I found out that his sister has a show at the Tate; I recall that as a place you frequent, so I thought I’d pass along the information: http://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-britain/exhibition/tate-britain-commission-2015-christina-mackie

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Melinda for your comment and for the information about Christina Mackie. This looks like a fascinating exhibition that I must get to this summer sometime. Of course there are many instances when we ‘shoot from the hip’ and the results are complete rubbish – those never get seen! But it’s exciting when you find you have caught something worth having.

  2. I agree with Melinda, shooting spontaneously often times yields very nice results. Something within tells us to capture a scene and we should listen more often than not. That’s quite a moment you’ve captured, Andy. 😉

  3. Chillbrook says:

    This is a super shot Andy! It tells a story beautifully, a toddler finding his feet and the lighting is lovley!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. It was the lighting that caught my eye – I thought I might get an interesting silhouette or two, but this little threesome wasn’t seen at the time and was a nice surprise.

  4. poppytump says:

    Apart from the lovely light there I like that all three are mid step in the photo too Andy !

  5. shoreacres says:

    What a delightful photo. Every now and then I find a detail in a photo I hadn’t seen, and it certainly adds to the pleasure. And lucky toddler! Would that all children could go out and explore the world that way!

  6. Len says:

    You discovered a gem there when you cropped into the image Andy. Well done.

  7. I love exactly the spontaneous expression in these two photos. And of course that little threesome is what makes it something special. But I do like the original framing better than the tighter crop. 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank Otto. I’m inclined to agree with you – the full frame gives a great sense of space and theatre. The cropped shot is by no means perfect – poor quality due to some noise and a rather awkwardly cluttered background. If I’d had a Nikon with me and could have fired off a rapid burst I might just have caught a better image. So near…

Comments are closed.