Lilac unfurls

One of the features of Spring that still holds me in thrall after all these years is how leaves unfurl and grow. We have a couple of Lilac trees in our garden – one white and one pink. And every year I watch this process happen and marvel at it.

DSC_5312The shapes created are a delight to my eye, as shown here. Isn’t nature miraculous?

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Garden Plants and Wild Flowers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Lilac unfurls

  1. Helen Cherry says:

    Suich beautiful light and spring is absolutely my favourite season 🙂

  2. poppytump says:

    Gorgeous back sunlight Andy …it really emphasises the little lilac leaves welcoming Spring with open arms 🙂 It’s a shame it doesn’t last at all being cut for indoors , or maybe I’ve missed the trick ! I guess there’ll be quite a few plants and shrubs that you’ll sorely miss when you move to pastures new ….

    • LensScaper says:

      I remember my mother cutting stems of Lilac for display indoors – as much for the smell as for the display. And you’re right – lilac just didn’t seem to last well at all

  3. oneowner says:

    You are a few weeks ahead of us as we haven’t seen any leaves sprouting like this here. However, we have a big festival dedicated to the lilac in May and we’re really looking forward to it. Excellent back lighting here.

  4. Yes, Andy, depending on your definition of nature, it is miraculous—and you’ve caught her beautifully.

  5. Chillbrook says:

    Such lovely shades of green Andy! Gorgeous!

  6. Lisa Gordon says:

    This is absolutely gorgeous!

  7. Len says:

    The backlighting really makes this shot pop Andy.

  8. Gorgeous photograph 🙂

  9. shoreacres says:

    I dearly loved our lilacs, and miss them. There simply isn’t an artificial fragrance of any sort, even the most expensive perfume, that can replicate their scent. We had huge bushes precisely because my mother loved to fill vases with them, and she needed a good supply!

    The photo is a beautiful. The greens of new growth can’t be replicated, either.

    • LensScaper says:

      Sadly this beautiful shape of the unfolding leaf lasts just a day or two, and this year the pace of change is so rapid the scene changrs from day to day. If only one could freeze-frame it for a while longer. My mother did exactly the same as yours, Linda.

Comments are closed.