Subtle Curves

Following on from the muted colours of my last architectural image (click here to view Geometric Subtlety), here’s another one from last year. In this instance the geometric lines are not criss-crossed but swirl through the frame.

_DS79702Both today’s image and the previous one were discovered while walking around central London searching for the Books about Town benches. There were a total of 50 benches, all identical sculpted benches that resembled opened books and were painted by 50 different artists to illustrate a particular well-known book or writer. The benches were placed all over London for about two months last summer – some in the City, some on the South Bank and at Greenwich and some in Bloomsbury. Finding them was like a giant Treasure Hunt (there was a map of placements). The consequence of spending two or three days walking around finding and photographing them was that I found myself in areas of London that I didn’t normally visit and, of course, that resulted in a lot of new images not related in any way to the primary search.

I really must produce a post or two on those benches, but as a teaser here are two examples of the quality of the illustrative art:

Post512_DS81173Paddington Bear had a bench all to himself and this image shows the style of the sculptured benches.

_DS79672The second bench illustrates ‘Mrs Dalloway’ by Virginia Woolf. I thought this was a superbly crafted illustration.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Subtle Curves

  1. shoreacres says:

    The top photo is a nice complement to the previous one you showed, but the benches are wonderful. Mrs. Dalloway is nice enough (beautiful, actually) but it’s Paddington I love. I can’t wait for the DVD release so I can see the film whenever I want. 😉

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Paddington Bear is rather special I agree, but I was particularly attracted to the Mrs Dalloway artwork. There was a huge variety of artwork on display. Not all to my taste but it would be surprising if it had been!

      Like

  2. Nice work on these photos, esp. the first one.

    Like

  3. Chillbrook says:

    I like your subtle curves very much Andy! Such a shame the benches were only about town for 2 months. They really are quite lovely.

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. The benches were visible for too short a period. Sadly some were vandalised and there was a small team going round repairing damage to the paintwork. I caught the last bunch at the tail end of the exhibit and found myself catching up with quite a group of photographers on the same mission – chasing down the last few benches.

      Like

  4. Sue says:

    Oh, wow! Shame I missed those…I wonder if the same might be done this year? I think I need to read The Londonist more regularly

    Like

  5. poppytump says:

    Mrs D is quite remarkable Andy ! Love the warping wave movement through your reflections .

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Mrs D was one of my favourites. And as for the architectural shot – there is actually a corner to the building in there but I took this looking up and the resulting wave softened the angle unexpectedly. Thanks Poppy.

      Like

  6. seekraz says:

    What a wonderful idea. How many did you find, Andy?

    Like

  7. Great shots, Andy. Really nice framing on that first shot.
    Love the benches, what a great idea someone put forward. So nicely done. Looking forward to seeing more of them, Andy. Sadly, you’ve mentioned that some were vandalized. Bummer!

    Like

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for your comment Jimi. The damage was mainly paint scratches but the one that had to be removed was sited outside a pub – I think that one was asking for trouble.

      Like

Comments are closed.