Geometric Subtlety

The geometry and reflectivity of modern architecture that attracts my attention very often has a vibrant quality to it. It shouts: look at me! And I look.

_DS81470_cropThe image today is also about geometry and line but the colours are far more muted but just as satisfying. You don’t have to shout to be heard.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Geometric Subtlety

  1. Chillbrook says:

    The subtle greys and greens are lovely Andy as are the lines! Super image.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. This was taken last September on one my walks through London, somewhere near the Tower of London I think. I was chasing down the last of the Books about Town benches which was like a treasure hunt and got me to quite a few unexplored areas of the city.

  2. oneowner says:

    The dark lines really add the dynamic elements to this composition, Andy. Very nice.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Ken. As with so many of these shots, this was just a small section of a vast frontage. So different from the usual ‘in your face’ sun-lit frontages.

  3. poppytump says:

    Talking about lines … I like your last one Andy 🙂
    This has all the makings of an Architectural Cat’s Cradle .. and am now left wondering about the building with a steeple caught in there …
    Like it !

    • LensScaper says:

      I’ve just done a little bit of research and I believe the church, whose steeple you see reflected, is All Hallows by the Tower – the oldest church in the City of London. I had just left the Tower and my next image, after the one you see, was of the striking London Underwriting Centre.

  4. shoreacres says:

    I really like this. Do you see the two “spinnaker poles” canted upward to the left from the center support? It took me a minute to figure out what seemed so familiar about the design — that’s it! I rarely sailed with a poled spinnaker, but it can be lots of fun. Clearly, the principle applies off the water, too.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. I see those spinnaker poles. I used to sail – small boats – and once on an ocean going yacht but I don’t think we deployed the spinnaker but they are always a beautiful sight, billowing ahead of a boat.

  5. This is great Andy. You are right when you say you don’t have to shout to be heard. Love the muted colours and lines 🙂

  6. Len says:

    Love the geometry that you have a keen eye for Andy.

Comments are closed.