Umbrellas

There haven’t been many opportunities for image capture this month so I’ve gone back exactly a year for today’s image. It’s raining this morning so it’s apt that the image I’ve chosen features umbrellas – lots of them.

IMG_5601This is a brilliant piece of street art – impressionistic and stylish. I found it at the back of the Queen Elizabeth Hall on Southbank. It was painted as part of the Urban Arts Festival Weekend. The artist is Dan Kitchener – click here to visit his website. I’m not sure if this art is still in situ; Dan’s page says it was scheduled to be displayed for only one month but I am sure I have seen it twice, more than a month apart. But a year later from when I took this image… it may not be there. Which would be a shame, because this is so good it deserves to remain in place.

I would never have spotted this if I hadn’t gone ‘round the back’. So often we stay on the main paths, roads, river walks. It’s when you  venture off those main well-trodden routes that you find the unexpected. Try it…

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Street Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Umbrellas

  1. A wonderful piece of art. Good choice Andy 🙂

  2. oneowner says:

    Great street art is where you find it but, like this, it’s worth seeking out.

  3. suej says:

    Totally agree with your sentiment…but this is one bit of street art I missed!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Sue – there are several murals in this small area that are easily missed if you don’t explore the backs of the main buildings in this complex – this however is the best of the bunch in my opinion

  4. Len says:

    Exploring definitely was worth it Andy. Very cool piece of art.

  5. Chillbrook says:

    This is superb Andy!

  6. poppytump says:

    Art one could step right into Andy ! Brilliant 🙂

  7. shoreacres says:

    Some of my favorite paintings and photographs are of Paris in the rain, and this evoked them immediately. One thing that strikes me is how often we imagine London in gloomy weather as a rather depressing place. This certainly is a bright spot, and beautifully captures the interplay of urban life and the natural world.

    I’m glad you found it for us.

    • LensScaper says:

      This artwork was in quite a dark place and protected from the elements by an overhang. It most certainly was a flash of brightness and the quality of the art is exceptional and I loved the style. I thought of New York – don’t know why, I’ve never been there – but it was something about the sense of crowding and the after-dark light of a busy city. Artists often don’t get enough credit for work like this and I enjoy being able to show some of the work I come across in a public arena. As always, thanks so much for your comment Linda.

  8. Jimi Jones says:

    This is a really wonderful work of art. Glad you captured it, Andy.

Comments are closed.