Interpretations

If a group of us were taken to a location we had never visited before and given an hour to take a set of images the likelihood is that we would all come back with something similar, but each one of us would come back with at least one uniquely different image. And that would be because as we grow as photographers we all learn to see the world differently: the product of our personal creativity and our distinctive heightened powers of observation. We are interpreters of the world we pass through. As André Kertész says: ‘I do not document anything, I give an interpretation.’

Today I have two interpretations for you of a building I spotted on my recent visit to Camden in North London.

IMG_7274_monoIMG_7276_wp

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Interpretations

  1. suej says:

    Love that second one!

  2. shoreacres says:

    The “monster” is in both photos, but more evident in the second. Dare I say you’ve captured a “whale” of an image? Once I spotted the whale, it was clear that the inclusion of the gaff in the first photo was no gaffe!

    • LensScaper says:

      Ha! Well I never spotted the whale – it’s all in the eye of the beholder! Loved your comment, it brought a smile to my face, and there’s a blue sky outside. It’s a good day, so far. Thanks Linda

  3. Chillbrook says:

    I love the clean lines in both these images Andy and the verticles and curves mirrored in the shadows.. great stuff!

    • LensScaper says:

      This building certainly caught my eye. Sometimes I wonder just how these shadows are created and a curved building can usually be guaranteed to add something that little bit different.

  4. Len says:

    Love the lines and geometry of these shots Andy. I always come home disappointed if I haven’t found at least one shot that no one else saw.

  5. I agree with you. No two photographers will see and interpret the world the same way. I really like your two interpretations in this post. In one you have used contrast colour as bearing element, in the other the shape of a shadow.

Comments are closed.