Looking in the mirror

Where there’s glass there will be reflections. This building was under construction last summer when we were in Zermatt. It’s always intriguing to imagine how a building will finally look when completed.

Buildings have ‘sides’. A side that welcomes the visitor and other sides that are perhaps a little more impersonal. This frontage (if I can call it that) backs onto the road alongside the river and looks across to the hillside opposite. _DS82727_cropThe reflection is precise and stark – wintry. It will be interesting to see how it looks in summer when there is some colour to be found.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Looking in the mirror

  1. Len says:

    Terrific reflection and the monochrome snow contrasts so well with the building Andy.

  2. oneowner says:

    I’ve heard of a project some photographers participate in whereby they take a shot and turn around 180 degrees and take a second shot and display both photos together. You’ve managed this in just one shot.

  3. shoreacres says:

    At first, I thought I was looking through the glass to the outdoors. I’m wondering if this glass has been coated or treated somehow to provide such a crisp reflection. It’s interesting, and beautiful.

    • LensScaper says:

      Some glass is truly flat (unlike most glass that isn’t), and I’m sure this glass has been given the full ‘gloss’ finish because the reflection is so crisp. I really wanted someone walking up that path that you see reflected in the window, but sadly no-one obliged.

  4. This came out great, Andy. A really nice black and white image in an earth toned frame. I love to see and find these types of window shots as they often times make awesome abstracts as well.

  5. Meanderer says:

    Love this, Andy; super image. I especially like the crisp mono reflection contrasted with the warm wood.

Comments are closed.