Ice Curtain

When the legs are tired of skiing, it’s time to take a walk around Zermatt village. There is always something new or different to see.

This winter started with a number of freeze-thaw cycles as the weather unpredictably changed. It wasn’t good news for the pistes  but it did result in the formation of some impressive icicles on some of the buildings in Zermatt.

_DS82722_wp

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Black & White and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ice Curtain

  1. Chillbrook says:

    Super shot Andy! I really like the strong contrast.

  2. shoreacres says:

    I was fond of icicle-eating as a kid, and those look pretty tempting. I don’t remember ever being concerned about dirty ice. We just snapped them off and enjoyed. When we got tired of eating them, we’d use them for sword play.

    If you flipped the image upside down, it would look for all the world like a music equalizer. Do you suppose it’s playing Vivaldi’s “Winter”?

    • LensScaper says:

      Ah – childhood…always brings back some wacky memories. Icicles in the Alps reach prodigious lengths – the one thing you don’t want to do with some of them hanging off the edge of roofs is walk under them – being speared with a three foot icicle could be terminal! And Vivaldi’s four seasons – one of my favourite pieces of music. I like the idea of the Equalizer, Linda. Thank you as always.

  3. I remember long icicles when i was a kid growing up in Northern Ontario, where the winders were very very cold. We used to shoot them off with B.B. guns…

  4. Nice one, Andy. I especially like the contrast between the vertical icicles and the horizontal marks in the background.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Linda. This, I suspect is not as well insulated as most buildings in Zermatt, and it’s a place I always look for icicles. They are certainly impressive this year, and the dark wood really provides the ideal contrast.

  5. Len says:

    Looks like the northeast over the past few months. Now if only there was this iconic mountain in CT…

Comments are closed.