Revealed

Late morning on the second day’s skiing in Zermatt, the cloud cover that had oppressively shrouded the mountains started to thin and a watery sun appeared directly overhead as I reached the top lift station at Hohtalli.

Was it going to clear? An hour later we had the answer – Yes it was. One by one the mountains emerged, and lastly, the Matterhorn shed most of its shroud. Seen from the Gornergrat ski area its shape is particularly striking – a jagged fin thrusting into the sky.

IMG_7507_wpThe following morning the blue sky appeared earlier in the morning, only to disappear by lunchtime but not before I shot this image of the Matterhorn from the Tufteren piste in the Rothorn ski area. This is the instantly recognizable view – the same as seen from Zermatt village but with the benefit of being viewed from a higher altitude.

IMG_7540_wpThere are eighty-seven pistes in the Zermatt ski area (excluding those on the Italian slopes) and there are very few pistes that don’t feature a view of the Matterhorn. It is the presence of the Matterhorn in the background, with all its moods and subtly changing shape, that makes Zermatt such a magical place to ski.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Skiing - Zermatt and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Revealed

  1. Gorgeous. You have to love it when Mother Nature cooperates.

  2. shoreacres says:

    Oh, my. I like them both: the first for the blowing snow, the second for the larger, “in context” view. I suspect you’ll never get tired of that mountain, which is good for us. I love seeing it through your eyes.

    • LensScaper says:

      I’ll nver tire of looking at the mountain – it has a mood for every day, and sometimes several moods per day. It has to be seen to be believed. Many thanks for your comment, Linda.

  3. Chillbrook says:

    Such a majestic sight Andy! Wonderful photographs! 🙂

  4. Len says:

    I don’t know if I will ever see this majestic mountain, but if I don’t, I will have your photos to marvel at Andy.

  5. John says:

    The Matterhorn is so iconic. My first glance at the first image was that it did not capture the scale of the mountain, but then on closer inspection the subject (in red!) makes it work really well. Nice images.

    • LensScaper says:

      I think it is very difficult to accurately give a sense of scale to a mountainscape, and particularly to a mountain as extraordinary as the Matterhorn. Glad you liked the images, John, and thank you

  6. A magnificent scene beautifully photographed.

Comments are closed.