On the Way

The journey is part of the holiday – always. I’ve just returned from a week’s skiing in Zermatt, Switzerland and this year, for the first time, I decided to set the computer aside and not post anything, or read anything while I was there. My apologies to all of you who I normally keep in contact with.

Back home (suffering miserably from a chest infection – an unwelcome gift from a fellow skier) I am now catching up with a series of daily posts, and today there are five images from the long ten-hour journey there and back that we endure each year: Car, bus, flight, train, train, taxi.

IMG_7387_wpThe first image may well be regarded by many as a hackneyed one, but we had chosen these seats and were not disappointed with the view out and the port-hole framing.

On to Geneva Airport. If you ever pass through this airport and catch a train from the underground railway terminus do not forget to look up. I have been photographing this ceiling above the shopping arcade every time we pass through for the last six or seven years and I still find something new to shoot.IMG_7390_wpIt may be simply a series of abstract colours, or it may be a couple of fellow travellers.IMG_7391_wpThe train from Geneva to Zermatt skirts Lac Leman (passing through Lausanne and Montreux) and then on up the Rhone valley to Visp before the final train up to Zermatt. This three-hour railway journey passes through prime wine-growing areas on either side of the valley. For much of the year there is nothing very remarkable about them. But snow transforms the landscape. In winter the vines are cut back to bare stalks and these contrast so prominently with the white ground. IMG_7599_wpRegimented geometric lines make the pictures. I sit with the lens of the camera in direct contact with the window-glass, eliminating the reflections that otherwise would ruin the shots.IMG_7602_wpFor more travel images of Geneva Airport and other journeys click on the ‘En Route’ category in the Rt sidebar.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in En Route and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to On the Way

  1. Welcome back Andy. Wonderful shots. I’m glad you had a good time but I’m sorry to hear that you’re ill. Feel better.

  2. Great images Andy – like you I’m suffering from the results of a cold, so ‘get well soon’ to both of us!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Paul. I read an interesting article recently reporting research into respiratory illness prevalence that had concluded that coughs and colds etc were more common in winter because cold temperatures reduced the ‘immunity’ of the mucous membranes lining our breathing tubes. So -16C might have had a bearing on my current situation. Hope you are improving, I think I have plateaued out.

  3. Chillbrook says:

    Sorry to hear about the chest infection Andy. I hope you’re soon on the mend with a hefty dose of Amoxycilin or similar. I always seem to get the seat in front of the air passenger with the streaming cold and dreadful cough, regularly feeling the blast of air from behind ruffle my hair, as another sneeze or cough goes unstifled.
    The pictures of the vineyards are fabulous. As you know I spent a very memorable time in Switzerland, possibly picking grapes in one of the vineyards photographed, when I was 17. I didn’t see the vines freshly pruned and covered in snow of course. Very photogenic indeed!

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Adrian. In my case it was probably being crammed into a large cable car like sardines. And the ‘sardines’ come from all around the world. Our favourite Swiss wine is Fendant – it’s a great shame that the Swiss don’t export their wine.

  4. Andy – those last two images are beautiful, and they remind me of embroidery samples with the dormant plants standing in for stitches on snowy cloth.

  5. suej says:

    Love those images of the vineyards in snow….the geometry is brilliantly revealed in black & white! Hope you get over your cold soon 🙂

  6. Welcome back Andy. Great shots. Interesting ceiling in the railway terminus 🙂

  7. Len says:

    Welcome back Andy. I headed for a warmer climate that you. I am still there (only 1 week left) before I head back to the frigid Northeast. As you have posted, the pain of getting to a destination is usually worth it.

  8. shoreacres says:

    Welcome back! With a couple of days passed since you posted this, perhaps you’re beginning to feel on the mend. I surely do hope so.

    Like others, I found the images of the vineyards compelling. In the first, the treeline making its way from top to bottom looks almost like the tracks of someone skiing down a slope in broad, sweeping turns.

    As for the shot of the wing? It made me laugh, because it brought to mind something I’ve had in my files since I first saw it. Some images are just funny.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks you Linda. Health-wise I’m sorry to report that I’m still suffering. But, managing to find pleasure in processing images from our recent ski trip. I loved your humour with that final remark and the image – made my day.

Comments are closed.