Curved

Whenever I pop into the Espresso Bar in the John Lewis store in Milton Keynes I can’t avoid looking up at the curves in the ceiling. Pure joy. IMG_5412

 

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Architecture & Buildings, Out for Lunch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Curved

  1. Chillbrook says:

    I wonder how many people bother to look up Andy and appreciate the design, think about the design process, that an engineer has worked out how the design might then be fabricated, etc. etc. Excellent photo, very nicely composed, as you must have been, taking the picture in a crowded Espresso Bar.

    • LensScaper says:

      We can really miss so much through a lack of awareness of what is above our heads. When I first stepped into this space (it used to be the main cafe – now moved to Level 2 in the heart of the store during a make-over) I remember being struck by the ceiling. Stratified. It reminds me a little of the East Beach Cafe in Littlehampton, which has a stratified shell. I deliberately sat in a position where I got a good view (minus clients) – G10 just sitting on the table, switched on and I just waited and shot. The Waiter added human interest. Many thanks Adrian, as always, for your comment.

  2. oneowner says:

    I think the effort put into the design of a ceiling like this really pays off and aarchitects realize this. This is a particularly nice one and very photogenic.

  3. shoreacres says:

    While I can appreciate the design and the photo, this isn’t a place I’d ever want to spend any time. It feels cold and sterile. Not all “industrial design” strikes me that way, but my first thought when I glanced at the photo was, “Is this a prison? A hospital?” Oh, my. I guess I’ll just have to plead personal preference on this one. 🙂

    • LensScaper says:

      Personal preferences are important and valid, Linda. It may sound somewhat of a contradiction but despite the ‘decorative’ (hints of Art Deco perhaps) ceiling, this space has a minimalist feel to it and it is a little sparse and functional. So your thoughts do have validity. On the positive side it looks out through floor to ceiling glass, over a large indoor square. It’s a grteat place to sit and watch the world go by below. I guess this image is an example of the fact that a single camera shot can create an impression that is not truly representative of the space as a whole – we capture what attracts us. André Kertész, the Hungarian photographer, once said: ‘I do not document anything, I give an interpretation’.

  4. While I do appreciate the ceiling—it’s really lovely—I find the figure in the shot adding a lot to the appeal of the composition. Well done, Andy!

  5. Len says:

    Lots of cool lines and geometry Andy.

  6. Very nice shot. In spite of the industrial-like materials, it has a delicacy to it that I find appealing.

  7. Pingback: Photographic Inspiration: 30 Links to Amazing Images and Photography Articles | Light Stalking

  8. Pingback: Photographic Inspiration: 30 Links to Amazing Images and Photography Articles - The Infinite Studio

  9. Pingback: Photographic Inspiration: 30 Hyperlinks to Superb Photographs and Images Articles | TiaMart Blog

  10. Love this shot, Andy! This is so well designed and you nailed the shot.

  11. Indeed a captivating design. I love how you framed it into a beautiful composition of lines and shapes. Interesting to notice, too, how we react differently to this kind of interior design. While Linda (shoreacres) wouldn’t want to spend time there, I think it’s quite fascinating.

Comments are closed.