The Weir

At the South-Eastern end of Grasmere in the Lake District there is a small step down in the water level. A weir. Less than a foot in height, but on a still day the water is transformed from a barely rippled sheen into a minor torrent as it overflows into the River Rothay. The river then winds its way to Rydal Water, and from there to Ambleside where it drains into Lake Windermere, the largest body of water in the Lake District.

My eye was attracted by the contrast in the water above and below the weir.

_DS77831

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in WaterScapes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Weir

  1. oneowner says:

    Excellent shot, Andy. I have a photo very much like the top half of this scheduled to post soon. Your approach is quite different but it’s very nicely done.

  2. Nice shot Andy. Isn’t water just fascinating, and a delight for the photographer – never the same twice and always changing. There is a weir in Otley where I live – it is about 200 ft long and 6 or 7 ft high, and I pass by it every day on my way to work. I am always fascinated by the water which flows over it and how it changes daily.

  3. Chillbrook says:

    Super image Andy. I love the contrast in colour and texture! 🙂

  4. Chillbrook says:

    I meant tone of course.. ! 😀

    • LensScaper says:

      Just finished watching Wolf Hall! Thanks for the comment(s), Adrian. There was very little colour in the original actually. I don’t think I will ever stop loving the B&W medium – it has this ability to let the tones do all the talking and the contrast comes to the fore.

  5. shoreacres says:

    It took me a while to get my mind around “weir.” It’s a new word to me. The only time I remember hearing it was as the surname for my grandparents neighbors, Johnny and Sarah Weir. But the best word of all is the name, “Ambleside.” Isn’t that descriptive!

    I agree about the fascination of water. I like that you’ve captured the transition from one state to another here. It’s a vibrant and energetic photo.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thank you as always, Linda. Isn’t it strange how we can be familiar with a name or a word for years and years and then suddenly see it in a new light. I feel really stupid to have to admit that I had never looked at ‘Ambleside’ as two words joined together! It’s taken over 55 years for the ‘penny to drop’ as we say over here (that’s another anglicism for you). But this small town lies right on the edge of the northern tip of Lake Windermere. I’ve just looked it up on Wikipedia and found that the name is derived from Old Norse Á-mel-sǽtr = “river – sandbank – summer pasture”. The poet William Wordsworth lived and worked in Ambleside. We never stop learning.

  6. Jimi Jones says:

    This is quite a capture, Andy. Great framing and contrast.

  7. Len says:

    Excellent tones and very cool composition Andy. I also learned the use of a new word!

  8. stunning pic! I share the admiration of the others 🙂

Comments are closed.