Uphill Flying

They promised snow (again) overnight – and none appeared. My mind is however on places where there is most definitely snow. The Alps got off to a poor start this winter with very poor snow cover but as I write the snow has been falling and the conditions are looking very good.

Time spent riding uphill on a chairlift, exposed to the weather, is always an opportunity to take a good look around. Sitting on a bench, possibly accompanied by others, or best when alone, suspended in thin air with a bird’s eye view of the landscape, is a special experience. You see things very differently, and if you can get yourself organized (pocketing gloves, securing ski poles) and have the camera easily to hand, there are images to capture.

_DS78705_wpSome of the best are seen below one’s feet, and if the light is right and the shadows are cast, then the lift’s hardware becomes the picture. For another view – a selfie – click here.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Skiing - General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Uphill Flying

  1. oneowner says:

    We haven’t had much snow here but the ski resorts have snow making machines that run all night to cover the slopes since it is very cold here. Are such machines in use there?

    • LensScaper says:

      All the Alpine resorts have invested heavily in snow-making machines. But when snow cover is poor, there is always something lacking when skiing a white piste with exposed rock and grass not far away. Thankfully it doesn’t often happen.

  2. Chillbrook says:

    This makes for a very interesting photograph Andy! Never ridden a ski lift, always thought I’d like to..

  3. Very cool shot. Love the angles. Do you happen to have a photo of a field of flowers?

  4. Leanne Cole says:

    I’ve never been on a chair lift, I can only imagine what it would be like to travel on one over snow. I think I would be very excited.

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks for your comment Leanne. It’s the best way to ride up the hill. Riding in a cable car (Gondola) is liking being squashed in a sardine can on a busy day!

  5. shoreacres says:

    That’s the most elegant selfie I’ve ever seen, on that other page.

    Shadows on snow are so compelling. There has to be a simple explanation for one thing that I can’t quite figure out. Why are the shadows not solid? The white streaks across them appear to be snow. Is it that, where the snow is uneven, it reflects the light differently? I see that the shadows at the very top are solid, as I’d expect them to be. It’s almost as though the snow is reflecting back light the way waves on the water would. I’ve never noticed anything quite like this. It’s very interesting.

    • LensScaper says:

      Elegant is a word not usually applied to me, so thank you! You are right in your supposition, The snow is ruckled and ridged and of course the light is very strong and so the light is reflected differently, and light is also being reflected and refracted off neighbouring ridges and undulations. I think it gives the shadow area additional interest, and to be honest I hadn’t noticed shadows like this until I started processing images like these ones.

  6. poppytump says:

    *Organised* you were Andy !
    One has the feeling you are actually moving through a snowstorm here looking at the ski lift shadow … but of course you were not …

    • LensScaper says:

      Thanks Poppy. It takes a bit of practice to get organized and make sure nothing gets dropped. I’m now used to skiing with a Nikon slung round my neck with the chest strap of my slim profile rucsac holding it reasonably steady and not flapping around as I ski. Fingers crossed, I’ve never fallen with it exposed – just slowed the skiing speed down a bit..

  7. Len says:

    That is a very cool shot Andy. Wonderfully seen and captured. We have had a weird winter here in New England. Very cold but very little snow so far. We are expecting some this weekend. Since I am headed to Florida next week, I won’t care how much it snows as long as I can get there.

    • LensScaper says:

      Enjoy FLorida Len. I am heading for the Alps in a week or so. It’s snowing hard out there, making up for a rather poor start to the winter, and the conditions look to be very good – all that’s needed now is some sunshine.

Comments are closed.