Wood Stores

Swiss villages were built of wood. It was an accessible, free, local material. There was usually a forest just beyond the villages confines. Step off the main streets of any Swiss village today and the chances are that you will find there the evidence of that original village. The old Hay Lofts, the original timbers – not a straight line in sight – resting quietly, just existing. (If you want to see a couple of Posts of these, click here and here).

_DSC0556Look more closely and you will probably see stored there, between and under the lofts, today’s timber, cut from those same forests perhaps. Wood not for construction, but for burning. For heating and keeping warm. In all my visits to the Alps I don’t think I’ve ever seen a piece of coal. Why would you want to buy coal when wood is so plentiful and burns well?_DSC0559

And in most instances, the wood is stacked precisely and carefully. Typically Swiss.

About LensScaper

Hi - I'm a UK-based photographer who started out 45+ years ago as a lover of landscapes, inspired by my love of outdoor pursuits: skiing, walking and climbing. Now retired, I seldom leave home without a camera and I find images in unexpected places and from different genres. I work on the premise that Photography is Art and that creativity is dependent on the cultivation of 'A Seeing Eye'. I'm not averse to manipulating images to produce derivatives that may sometimes be far removed from the original.
This entry was posted in Winter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wood Stores

  1. oneowner says:

    I’m admiring the precision of the cut and stacked wood. Then again, the Swiss are noted for that.

  2. Chillbrook says:

    Lovely photographs Andy! Those woodstacks are very photogenic!

  3. Len says:

    Love the details that are in the trunks Andy. Really like the random pattern that the wood makes in the images.

  4. shoreacres says:

    I once knew an old farmer who’d say, “We don’t have much money, but we’re wood-rich.” And they were. He had the most beautiful woodpiles, with tinder here, small branches there, split logs under cover, to keep them dry. Your photos are beautiful. I hope the person whose wood that is had a splitter!

    Just out of curiosity, are the fireplaces big enough to burn those logs, or will they be split, too? I remember staying in one English inn where the fireplace was large enough for great logs, but I don’t know how common that is.

    • LensScaper says:

      I suspect they all have wood-burning stoves. The logs are split longitudinally, as you can see in the second image, but the split logs are often about a foot long so their wood-burners must be quite substantial to accommodate them.

Comments are closed.